HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   About installing ddclient (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8512)

satimis 25th November 2006 16:57

About installing ddclient
 
Hi folks,

Ubuntu-6.06.1-LAMP-server-amd64

On installing ddclient, what shall I fill in on;
Interface used for dynamic DNS service:

TIA


B.R.
satimis

falko 26th November 2006 15:48

Can you be more detailed about the context of your question, maybe also provide a screenshot?

satimis 27th November 2006 10:11

Hi falko,

Quote:

Can you be more detailed about the context of your question, maybe also provide a screenshot?
I found it. "eth0"

Now I have ddclient installed.

$ sudo /usr/sbin/ddclient -daemon 300 -syslog
No printout.

Where can I find the start/stop/restart scripts.

Besides how to test ddclient to check whether it works. TIA


B.R.
satimis

falko 28th November 2006 15:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by satimis
Where can I find the start/stop/restart scripts.

They are in /etc/init.d.

Quote:

Originally Posted by satimis
Besides how to test ddclient to check whether it works. TIA

Check the log files. Also, you can stop your internet connection and connect again and check if the IP address of your domain has been updated.

satimis 29th November 2006 06:07

Hi falko,

Tks for your advice.

$ dpkg -l | grep ddclient
Code:

ii  ddclient                                        3.6.2-6ubuntu1              Update dynamic IP address at DynDNS.org
ddclient is running.

IP address was updated on DYNDNS.ORG server whenever this server reconnected. I have it confirmed on login DYNDNS.ORG website.

But failed to ping my domain.

$ sudo ping -c 3 satimis.homelinux.com
Code:

PING satimis.homelinux.com (58.152.161.53) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- satimis.homelinux.com ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 2001ms

iptables has been stopped.

Please advise how fix this problem.


B.R.
satimis

falko 30th November 2006 15:01

Might be your router's firewall that doesn't allow pings.

satimis 30th November 2006 16:19

Hi falko,

Quote:

Might be your router's firewall that doesn't allow pings.
I don't have router nor hardware firewall.

The server is directly connected to an ADSL modem with a CAT5 cable. The another end of the ADSL modem is connected to a telephone wall socket with a telephone cable. The ADSL modem is supplied by ISP and does not need any setup.

B.R.
satimis

falko 1st December 2006 16:05

So you use your server for surfing the web? Or how do you use your internet connection with multiple systems?

satimis 1st December 2006 16:52

Hi falko,

Quote:

So you use your server for surfing the web?
No. Once this server has been full configured and running properly. I'll connect a workstation to this server. Internet surfing will be done on workstation.

Quote:

Or how do you use your internet connection with multiple systems?
Sorry, I don't follow. Whether you meant how to make broadband connection to the workstation. I'll add another NIC on the server to do masqerading.


B.R.
satimis

falko 2nd December 2006 15:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by satimis
Sorry, I don't follow. Whether you meant how to make broadband connection to the workstation. I'll add another NIC on the server to do masqerading.

So your server will be the router.

What's the output of
Code:

iptables -L
?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.