HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Adding domains to non-ISPConfig secondary DNS servers (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=814)

cstone 11th October 2005 03:27

Adding domains to non-ISPConfig secondary DNS servers
 
I had a need to add slave zone information to non-ISPConfig secondary bind name servers. For those that need to do this also, thought I'd post my patch and script here for everyone.

First, you need to setup an ssh login from the ISPConfig server to your secondary DNS server such that an ssh login is done by a key rather than using a password. I also have this set between the 'primary' secondary server (the one the ISPConfig 'talks' to) and my other 2 secondary servers.

Then, for the ispconfig_bind.lib.php file here's my patch:

--- ispconfig_bind.lib.php.orig 2005-10-10 14:17:06.661812492 -0600
+++ ispconfig_bind.lib.php 2005-10-09 19:43:38.139079442 -0600
@@ -169,6 +169,9 @@
$new_serial = date("Ymd")."01";
}

+ // set domain name for use to setup secondary
+ $domain_name = $dns["dns_soa"];
+
// Variablen zuweisen
$mod->tpl->assign( array('DNS_SOA' => $dns["dns_soa"],
'DNS_ADMINMAIL' => str_replace("@", ".", $dns["dns_adminmail"]),
@@ -296,6 +299,10 @@

$server = $mod->system->server_conf;

+ // setup domain on secondaries
+ error_log(date("Y-m-d H:i:s")." Adding $domain_name to secondary server ns1.axint.net\n",3,"/var/tmp/ispconfig.log");
+ exec("ssh root@ns1.axint.net /root/scripts/webcp/add-dns-webcp.pl $domain_name");
+
$server_bind_user = $server["server_bind_user"];
$server_bind_group = $server["server_bind_group"];
exec("chown $server_bind_user:$server_bind_group $bind_file &> /dev/null");


On the secondary, in /root/scripts/webcp directory I have the following script for add-dns-webcp.pl - note too that this script also updates 2 other secondary servers with the new domain also):

=====================================
#!/usr/bin/perl

#############################
# Check for Correct Input #
#############################

if (!$ARGV[0]) {
chop ($timestamp = `/bin/date`);
$error = "Failed user input check. Valid arguments (domain name) not passed to script!";
$combine = $timestamp . " - " . $error;
writelog ($combine);
exit 0;
}

#############################
# Define Needed Variables #
#############################

my $domain = $ARGV[0];
my $filename = $domain . ".dns";
my $savefilename = $filename . ".old";

####################################
# Check if Domain Already Exists #
####################################

dupcheck();

sub dupcheck {
chop($dupcheck = `grep -ic $domain /var/named/named.conf`);

if ($dupcheck >= 1) {
chop ($timestamp = `/bin/date`);
$error = "Failed dupcheck. Domain, $domain, already exists in /var/named/named.conf!";
$combine = $timestamp . " - " . $error;
writelog ($combine);
# refresh since apparently the 'duped' domain has been updated on master
system("/usr/sbin/rndc reload");
exit 0;
}
}

#######################################
# Add New Domain Name to named.conf #
#######################################

open(NAMEDFILE, ">>/var/named/named.conf") or die("\n");

print NAMEDFILE <<EOF;

zone "$domain" {
type slave;
file "slaves/$filename";
masters {
38.116.133.20;
};
};

EOF

close(NAMEDFILE);

###################################
# Write confirmation to logfile #
###################################

chop ($timestamp = `/bin/date`);
open(LOG, ">>/var/log/dns-scripts.log") or die "failed on temp file open";
print LOG ("$timestamp - $domain successfully added to /var/named/named.conf.\n");
close(LOG);

###################
# Reload Namedb #
###################

system("/usr/sbin/rndc reload");

#############################################
# Add New Domain to Secondary Name Servers #
#############################################

system("/usr/bin/ssh -b 38.116.133.2 root\@ns2.axint.net /root/scripts/dns/add-dns-webcp.pl $domain $filename");
system("/usr/bin/ssh -b 38.116.133.2 root\@ns3.axint.net /root/scripts/dns/add-dns-webcp.pl $domain $filename");

exit 0;

##############################
# Write logfile Subroutine #
##############################

sub writelog {

open(LOG, ">>/var/log/dns-scripts.log") or die "failed on temp file open";
print LOG ("@_\n");
close(LOG);

};

exit 0;
=====================================

All works quite well - YMMV.


Chris

Switched 2nd March 2006 06:07

Nice work!

May I suggest a small improvement?

In your dupcheck function you use this

chop($dupcheck = `grep -ic $domain /var/named/named.conf`);

The problem with that is it matches too much. For example, as a webhost I find my users will often get their country specific domain, and the .com. So, if they start with foobar.com.au and later add foobar.com, your test will fail when it really shouldn't.

Looking at the structure of a secondary zone entry, we should be able to match the first line uniquely.

ie.

Code:

zone "foobar.com.au" {
        type slave;
        file "/path/to/zones/db.foobar.com.au";
        masters { www.xxx.yyy.zzz; };
};

should make

chop($dupcheck = `grep -ic "zone \"$domain\" {" /var/named/named.conf`);

Cheers! And thanks again for posting all of that. :)

falko 2nd March 2006 11:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Switched
Nice work!

May I suggest a small improvement?

In your dupcheck function you use this

chop($dupcheck = `grep -ic $domain /var/named/named.conf`);

In which file is it used?

Trey Hacker 19th July 2006 00:57

Qusetion on sub domains
 
Question on sub domains. Is the type of script I would need to setup sub domains in an automated fashion. By sub-domains I mean jimmy.forget.com rather than www.forget.com/jimmy.

Iím new to this side and canít find a script to set these up automatically with a self replicating web site.

Any help would be appreciated.


Thank You,

Trey Hacker

falko 19th July 2006 15:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trey Hacker
By sub-domains I mean jimmy.forget.com rather than www.forget.com/jimmy.

If your ISPConfig server is authoritative for the forget.com domain, then you must set up the subdomain in ISPConfig's DNS Manager, otherwise on the name server that is authoritative for your domain. You can find out about the authoritative name servers with this command:
Code:

dig ns forget.com


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:35.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.