HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   LAMP Installation On Ubuntu 6.06 For Linux Noobs - Startx problems (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8115)

Genin 12th November 2006 10:32

LAMP Installation On Ubuntu 6.06 For Linux Noobs - Startx problems
 
Greetings !

[Please be advised that I am a Linux noob :) ]

I downloaded the ubuntu server disc 6.06.1 (i386)

I chose "Install LAMP Server", configured networkmanually etc etc
and all this went smooth. After arriving at the prompt I entered:

apt-get update

apt get install ubuntu-desktop

at the end I got two timeouts on files:

http://se.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/...untu3_i386.deb
and
http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/po...tu12.1_all.deb

and a suggestion to either run apt-get update or try with --fix-missing.

I tried apt-get update since i ddin't know where to apply --fix-missing
(should that be on apt-get install ubuntu-desktop ?)

I didn't get to reboot system as it says in the howto so I did it anyway (reboot). When I run "startx" is says "unkown command" :-(

Would like some instruction as to how to get x running, or to get some
choice to choose kde/gnome/prompt as I had in my old Mandrake.

Best regards, Genin

sjau 12th November 2006 11:08

What I've read in the Ubuntu Forum is that it's better to use aptitude for installing (alternate) desktops...

So try the following:

apt-get remove ubuntu-desktop
apt-get update
aptitutde install ubuntu-desktop

Genin 12th November 2006 11:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjau
What I've read in the Ubuntu Forum is that it's better to use aptitude for installing (alternate) desktops...

So try the following:

apt-get remove ubuntu-desktop
apt-get update
aptitutde install ubuntu-desktop

Thanks :) I'll try that and get back if it still wont work

Genin 12th November 2006 13:57

Hi again !

Unfortunatly it didn't work....

First it couldn't be uninstalled because it wasn't installed (it said).

Then I tried upgrade and aptitude for installing ubuntu-desktop

It started good but at the end I first got some timeouts on some
files and then it said that waiting for "hdc to accept command"
for a few times and then some text of files flashed by and then
I was at prompt again with "-startx no such command" :( :( :(

Should it be so difficult to install a desktop on Ubuntu server???

Greatful for any additional help since I dont wanna crawl back to
W***ws Server 2003 etc etc.....

sjau 12th November 2006 14:12

no clue... hmmm, try

apt-get --fix-missing

Why do you want to install desktop on a server anyway?

Genin 12th November 2006 15:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjau
no clue... hmmm, try

apt-get --fix-missing

Why do you want to install desktop on a server anyway?

apt-get --fix-missing, just scroll the options for the command by
like I had used it wrong.

I want a graphical environment because I find it smoother than
punching in long commandstrings. Also I want to run Azureus and
Valknut on the server and they need a graphical environment.

I am still amazed that it is so difficult to obtain something so basic
in Linux still...

Anyway as before I am greatful for any help that I can get :D

sjau 12th November 2006 15:14

well, if you want to operate a desktop I rather recommend you installing the Desktop version and then add apache and stuff...

Well, if apt-get --fix-missing scrolls the options for the command then you also have in the first a line a syntax on how to use it. :)

Genin 12th November 2006 18:41

Woohooo :D

By running "apt-get install kubuntu-desktop" I am now sitting at the server
in a nice KDE environment ;)
So that little k infrontof ubuntu-desktop made it better.

Now for another wonderful desktop question:

When I start X and KDE "kicks in" it is set to 1280x1024 60Hz.
I would like that to be 1024x768 85Hz and I suppose there must
be some little config file somewhere that controls this.
But where can I find it and what is the name of it?
(This is prior to logging on because then it uses my desktop settings
which is 1024x768 85Hz.)

Thanks In Advance - Genin (Your typical average annoying LinuxNoob:) )

falko 13th November 2006 15:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by Genin
But where can I find it and what is the name of it?

I'm not quite sure, but maybe xorg.conf? You can search for such a file by running
Code:

updatedb
locate xorg.conf


Genin 21st November 2006 23:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
I'm not quite sure, but maybe xorg.conf? You can search for such a file by running
Code:

updatedb
locate xorg.conf


Yes I found the xorg.conf and to my bliss Nano was already installed :)
I couldn't find any entry that forced the default login screen to 1280x1024.
I found "DefaultDepth 24" which is colordepth but no line for "Default Mode".
I found a line listing modes like : Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600".....etc
But I dont know if I could delete the "1280x1024" part or make a new
entry under "DefaultDepth 24" saying 'Default mode 1024x768' ?

Any ideas?

Best Regards, Genin


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.