HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   PHP version... (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=795)

ctroyp 9th October 2005 04:25

PHP version...
 
I currently have PHP 5.0.5 installed for ISPConfig. I am running another application (phpBB2) on my server and it requires a version below 5.x. Does anyone see any issues on downgrading? Anything I need to be concerned with in ISPConfig?

till 9th October 2005 13:04

ISPConfig works with PHP4 as well as with PHP5. I think you will not get any issues with ISPConfig.

ctroyp 9th October 2005 18:27

When I remove the php 5.0.5 version, it is not going to remkove any shared files used by ISPConfig is it? Or, would it be better to just install the 4.x version over top?

till 9th October 2005 18:34

There are no shared files, ISPConfig has its own PHP5 installation for the controlpanel backend so it is not affected by the change of the PHP installation for the websites.

I recommend to first remove the PHP5 before installing PHP4.

ctroyp 9th October 2005 19:29

I think I may have found an underlying problem...

I was going to use the 'Add/Remove Applications' in the GNome desktop (since I am not that comfotable with the terminal yet). When I unchecked 'php' package and continued to 'Update' it came up with the following error:

Unlocatable package:
php
Required by:
('php-pear', '5.0.5', '2.1')
('php-ldap', '5.0.5', '2.1')
('php-devel', '5.0.5', '2.1')
('php-gd', '5.0.5', '2.1')
('php-imap', '5.0.5', '2.1')
('php-mysql', '5.0.5', '2.1')
('php-odbc', '5.0.5', '2.1')
('php-xmlrpc', '5.0.5', '2.1')

ctroyp 15th October 2005 23:58

I am still having issues on downgrading my PHP 5.0.5 version. So ISPConfig has its own instance of PHP5. With that in mind, I tried installing PHP 4.4.0 on my system, but the installation instructions on the PHP website directed me to install Apache 2 along with it. I wen on with the install and everything seemed okay.

When I did:
Code:

php -v
it replied with:
Code:

PHP 5.0.5 (cli) (built: Sep  8 2005 06:58:48)
Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.0.5, Copyright (c) 1998-2004 Zend Technologies

Now I am confused...shouldn't it be 4.4.0?

Back to my original problem (PHPBB2 requires < PHP 5.x). When I am trying to install PHPBB2 for one of my ISPConfig sites, is there something special that I need to do to get it to use my PHP 4.4.0 version?

Would it just be easier to downgrade my ISPConfig PHP instance to 4.4.0? What is involved in that?

Thanks for any help you can offer...

falko 16th October 2005 00:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctroyp
Now I am confused...shouldn't it be 4.4.0?

Run
Code:

updatedb
locate php

to find out if you have more than one PHP installation (besides the ISPConfig PHP, of course). Maybe your PHP 4 saw that there is already a PHP 5 and chose to install itself somewhere else.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctroyp
Would it just be easier to downgrade my ISPConfig PHP instance to 4.4.0? What is involved in that?

:eek: No, because the ISPConfig PHP is not used by your main Apache. This is something completely different.

ctroyp 16th October 2005 00:53

All I could find is 4.4.0?

Shouldn't 5.0.5 show up somewhere?

ctroyp 16th October 2005 01:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Code:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctroyp
Would it just be easier to downgrade my ISPConfig PHP instance to 4.4.0?
What is involved in that?

:eek: No, because the ISPConfig PHP is not used by your main Apache. This is something completely different.

If I am installing PHPBB2 for one of my ISPConfig hosted sites, the PHPBB2 directory needs to be located in the respective web directory of the site. Since ISPConfig uses PHP 5.0.5, won't PHPBB2 try and use it also?

falko 16th October 2005 03:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctroyp
If I am installing PHPBB2 for one of my ISPConfig hosted sites, the PHPBB2 directory needs to be located in the respective web directory of the site. Since ISPConfig uses PHP 5.0.5, won't PHPBB2 try and use it also?

No, because ISPConfig has its own Apache. There are two Apaches on your system: your main one running on port 80 (and maybe 443) which uses its own PHP, and the ISPConfig Apache on port 81 using another PHP. These two are totally independent of each other.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.