HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   ISPconfig situation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7947)

scytale 5th November 2006 09:23

ISPconfig situation
 
Hi ... i have this situation ... ubuntu server 6.10 install like in perfect tutorial + 4 personal site each one with static IP on 2 payed servers. The question : is it possible to host on my ubuntu at least 2 payed domain because I want to use at least one in local network ... and if this could happend what settings do I have to do ... many thanks in advance :)

till 5th November 2006 12:56

You can host several hundred domains on one ISPConfig servser. Just create a new website for reach domain.

scytale 5th November 2006 13:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
You can host several hundred domains on one ISPConfig servser. Just create a new website for reach domain.

the real problem is the fact that i don't know how to set up dns and ip's with the payed domain that i have already ...

domino 5th November 2006 13:19

The way I see it, it a waste of money to pay for hosting if you don't take advantage of the the control panel application. If it were up to me, I would hire a skilled person to take advantage of all possibilities of the server and the applications being used.

Hire someone to do what you want, learn from that person, take LOTS of notes! The next server you install can earn your money back if someone else hires you to do it.

I would have a chat with Till or Falko about this arrangment.

best,
D~

scytale 5th November 2006 13:25

sure thing ... but the problem is that I can't bring my payed domain into ISPconfig ... :(

domino 5th November 2006 13:33

If you have a dedicated or virtual private server, it certainly is possible to install ISPConfig on them. It's your option to install what ever control panel you want on YOUR server. You just have to know how to use Putty or what ever SSH client you use.

You last post doesn't make any sense. Do yo mean you don't know how to configure your domain from your domain registrar? In that case contact your registrar and have them configure it for you. They need you to stay with them and most likely help you input the proper settings.

scytale 5th November 2006 13:42

my problem is where do i put the info from my website in ISPconfig ... that simple i guess :)

resnostyle 5th November 2006 15:09

ok, first you want to get a dns server. that will handle most of connection between your domain and your server.

you can get one zoneedit.com if your domain does not offer one.

then you will have to wait a few hours to a day, because these updates take time.:mad:

meanwhile you can put that info into ispconfig. dns goes in the dns file, and domain is your address.

falko 6th November 2006 14:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by scytale
the real problem is the fact that i don't know how to set up dns and ip's with the payed domain that i have already ...

Do you want to run your own DNS servers (then have a look at http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy ), or do you just want your existing domain to point to your ISPConfig server?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.