HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Suggest HOWTO (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   renice - - set nice values of running processes (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7896)

sysconfig 3rd November 2006 08:53

renice - - set nice values of running processes
 
renice - - set nice values of running processes

Lets say you have started a process as root and you are updating something. You notice a HUGE slowdown in your system. You open a shell, and type "top" and notice that a process is using 94% of your CPU and hogging all the cpu time slowing everything else to a crawl!!! now what!!!!

Enter the command renice. Just as the manpages say, renice "set nice values of running processes". So, while running top, you notice the PID (process ID number) of the offending program/command is XXXXX (will actually be a number not x's).

As a root from shell:


Code:

root:~# renice 19 XXXXX
This will reset the nice value to a much lower (probably) nice value than it's currently running (top shows that as well).

Code:

root:~ # renice 19 22537
22537: old priority 0, new priority 19

The man pages give a pretty good description of all of this, plus they give several other specific examples on how renice can also be used.

sysconfig 6th November 2006 07:52

Quote:

can i renice when i'm not in root ? I have a problem with lam/mpi programs. mpi programs can't be run in root. But I want change nice value of those processes.:confused:
No I think you must be as root to renice process value

Thx


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.