HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   DNS Not Resolving Domain Name (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7844)

asyadiqin 1st November 2006 12:45

DNS Not Resolving Domain Name
 
Hi all,

I have a freshly installed ISPConfig (installed using the howto for Fedora Core 5) and everything seems to be working fine.

Recently, I installed a site andon this site there is an email form that sends out email enquiries to my clients email accounts. Past week or so, I have been receiving complaints that some of my clients were not receiving anymore enquiries and they tested the form on the site and didn't receive the emails at all.

I've checked the maillog and found the following (domain have been changed) :

Quote:

Nov 1 09:42:53 fc5-g3 postfix/smtp[12597]: B96334080B8: to=<info@myclientdomain.com>, relay=none, delay=7705, status=deferred (Host or domain name not found. Name service error for name=myclientdomain.com type=MX: Host not found, try again)
I did nslookup and dig on the domain to find out more

Quote:

# nslookup -q=any myclientdomain.com
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
Any other queries on other domains gets a response as normal but not this and a few other domains.

Initially I assumed that it was a wrongly configured domain and nothing to do with my server's DNS. However, when I used an online nslookup site, there seem to be no problem. Even doing a lookup on my local Windows machine gives me a response.

Any idea what is going on with this?

Thanks.


I have not done anything apart than what

till 1st November 2006 13:12

Please post the content of the file:

/etc/resolv.conf

asyadiqin 1st November 2006 15:09

Below is the content of /etc/resolv

Quote:

search iknow-uk.com
nameserver 89.107.17.142
nameserver 89.107.17.145
nameserver 127.0.0.1
The server is on 142 while 145 is another server running DNS and MySQL.

till 2nd November 2006 10:16

Please try to set one of your nameservers to a external server e.g. from your cable or server housing provider.

asyadiqin 2nd November 2006 12:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
Please try to set one of your nameservers to a external server e.g. from your cable or server housing provider.

This is what I get from the existing /etc/resolv.conf

Quote:

[asyadiqin@fc5-g3 ~]# nslookup
> server
Default server: 89.107.17.135
Address: 89.107.17.135#53
Default server: 89.107.17.145
Address: 89.107.17.145#53

> highfoldbedandbreakfast.co.uk
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

Next, I changed the /etc/resolv.conf to use external nameservers and this is the result

Quote:

[asyadiqin@fc5-g3 ~]# nslookup
> server
Default server: 69.59.17.21
Address: 69.59.17.21#53
Default server: 69.59.17.22
Address: 69.59.17.22#53

> highfoldbedandbreakfast.co.uk
Server: 69.59.17.21
Address: 69.59.17.21#53


Non-authoritative answer:
Name: highfoldbedandbreakfast.co.uk
Address: 67.15.97.220

Does this prove that something is wrong with my DNS servers? How can I rectify this?

falko 2nd November 2006 15:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by asyadiqin
Does this prove that something is wrong with my DNS servers?

Yes. Please make sure they are running. What's the output of
Code:

netstat -tap
?

asyadiqin 2nd November 2006 17:46

The list is too long to list here. :( Can you tell me what I should be looking for?

Assuming that named/BIND is not in the list, what should I do next?

Thanks.

asyadiqin 2nd November 2006 17:53

I did this in shell. Does this mean that its running?

Quote:

[asyadiqin@fc5-g3 XML]# nslookup -q=any howtoforge.com
Server: 89.107.17.135
Address: 89.107.17.135#53

Non-authoritative answer:
howtoforge.com nameserver = a1.rsns.hosteurope.de.
howtoforge.com nameserver = www.ensignweb5.de.

Authoritative answers can be found from:
howtoforge.com nameserver = www.ensignweb5.de.
howtoforge.com nameserver = a1.rsns.hosteurope.de.

[asyadiqin@fc5-g3 XML]# ps -ef | grep named | grep -iv grep
named 3236 1 0 15:42 ? 00:00:01 /usr/sbin/named -u named -t /var/named/chroot
Sorry if I am posting unnecessary info but I really do not know anything about BIND.

till 3rd November 2006 12:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by asyadiqin
I did this in shell. Does this mean that its running?

Yes, this looks better.

asyadiqin 3rd November 2006 13:21

So assuming that named/BIND is running fine, why am I having problem doing a lookup on some of the domain, eg. highfoldbedandbreakfast.co.uk

Problem occurs to a few domains while other domain lookup are fine. If I were to use external nameservers, lookup on the domains would go through without any problems.

Any ideas what I can do?:D


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.