HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   CentOS 4 - Zlib upgrade HowTo (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7026)

cryptic 22nd September 2006 20:00

CentOS 4 - Zlib upgrade HowTo
 
As there are quite a few people on here with CentOS boxes with an older zlib (1.2.1x), this quick and simple HowTO will show you how to create an rpm to upgrade zlib.

First, get gcc if you don't have it already:
'yum install gcc'

Next, you will need rpm-build:
'yum install rpm-build'

Now, grab the source rpm for zlib 1.2.3 from the Fedora 5 repos:
'wget ftp://chuck.ucs.indiana.edu/pub/array2/linux/fedora/linux/core/5/source/SRPMS/zlib-1.2.3-1.2.1.src.rpm'

Build the rpm with 'rpmbuild --rebuild zlib-1.2.3-1.2.1.src.rpm'

Now upgrade with the newly created rpms (zlib and zlib-devel):
'rpm -Uhv /usr/src/redhat/RPMS/i386/zlib-*1.2.3-1.2.1.i386.rpm'

Done.
# rpm -q zlib
zlib-1.2.3-1.2.1

till 23rd September 2006 14:25

Thanks for the howto. I moved your post to the Tips & Tricks forum :)

edouardj 25th October 2006 17:08

Hello,

wget without option doesn't work... I must use the option: --passive-ftp

Perhaps it could help somebody...

cryptic 26th October 2006 00:00

Thanks for the info edouardj, but I still can just "wget $file" without issue.

This is with GNU wget v1.10.2

edouardj 26th October 2006 09:32

GNU wget v 1.10.2 with centos 4.4 Final (uptodate) ...

but I live in France... Bye

falko 26th October 2006 12:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by edouardj
Hello,

wget without option doesn't work... I must use the option: --passive-ftp

Perhaps it could help somebody...

This is caused by your firewall. For some people (with another firewall) it works without --passive-ftp, and some others have to use it.

Chizl 2nd May 2008 20:27

Sorry to bring this topic back up, but while it was asked, I have another question about zlib.

Does anyone know if zlib 1.1.4 has a limitation of 2GB? The company I'm with handing me this 10year old code and says that zlib may have a 2GB limit.. I've searched all over and the newest version I know has a 4GB depending on how it's compiled. But can't find anything on the older version.

falko 3rd May 2008 21:14

I'm not sure, but the problem might as well be caused by using a 32bit system.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:14.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.