HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Hardware - Monitor Issue (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6980)

latcarf 20th September 2006 15:45

Hardware - Monitor Issue
 
Hopefully someone can help me on this... I have a Dell Trinitron P991 monitor and an onboard Intel 865G video chip. Seems the resolution I am stuck with is 1600x1200 XUGA which is way to small for these old tired eyes...

In Yast Hardware, Graphics Card and Monitor (X11) if I try to reset it to something (actually anything other than 1600x1200!) more readable I get a black window with a "Monitor Working Out of scan range, use system to reset." message.

I did some research and Intel and Linux point to X Server which seems to be installed and running (is this the same as Yast Hardware X11?). I ran across some command line stuff once about changing resolution but I totally lost track of it.

Any ideas how to get the resolution to say 1024x768....

latcarf 23rd September 2006 15:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by latcarf
Hopefully someone can help me on this... I have a Dell Trinitron P991 monitor and an onboard Intel 865G video chip. Seems the resolution I am stuck with is 1600x1200 XUGA which is way to small for these old tired eyes...

In Yast Hardware, Graphics Card and Monitor (X11) if I try to reset it to something (actually anything other than 1600x1200!) more readable I get a black window with a "Monitor Working Out of scan range, use system to reset." message.

I did some research and Intel and Linux point to X Server which seems to be installed and running (is this the same as Yast Hardware X11?). I ran across some command line stuff once about changing resolution but I totally lost track of it.

Any ideas how to get the resolution to say 1024x768....

okay stop the panic and mad rush... I just took the on board Intel 856 chip out of the loop and installed an Nvidia TNT2 card I had hanging around. That solved the issue... Intel & Linux not compatible... who would have thought! ;)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:14.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.