HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   DNS Services (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=692)

dranieri 27th September 2005 19:10

DNS Services
 
We have setup the debian linux Sarge webserver and is working :)
We have installed ISPConfig and is working :)
We have added on UebiMiau Webmail UebiMiau Webmail working also :)
Have added PHPMyAdmin 2.6.3-pl1 also working :)
Can some one recommend weather to us Dynamic or Static DNS service?
Could some one with experience tell me which of these two services would be the better choice Dyndns and Easydns ? Also you should know we have a linksys router that has a section that allows dyndns and tzo service.

falko 27th September 2005 19:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by dranieri
Can some one recommend weather to us Dynamic or Static DNS service?
Could some one with experience tell me which of these two services would be the better choice Dyndns and Easydns ?

If you don't have a static IP then use a dynamic DNS service. I've never tried Easydns because DynDNS is working for me. :)

dranieri 27th September 2005 19:31

Dyndns
 
So let me get this straight I just forward my domain to dyndns and activate the routers built in dyndns setting and we don't need a ipudat the router will do the work?:)

falko 27th September 2005 19:50

Quote:

Originally Posted by dranieri
So let me get this straight I just forward my domain to dyndns and activate the routers built in dyndns setting and we don't need a ipudat the router will do the work?:)

Yes, but you must still forward some ports from your router to your Linux system (e.g. port 80 for http, 25 for SMTP, 110 for POP3, 21 for FTP, 22 for SSH, ...).

dianer 28th September 2005 03:10

Thank you for your response....We are now set up w/ dyndns.....what I would like to know is where do we put the website information.....if my thinking is correct, it goes into the management area on ispconfig panel....please advise....also, is there a list somewhere of which ports will need to be enabled thru our router?

domino 28th September 2005 06:59

I have ddclient working with zonedit on 10 domains perfectly. If you need assistance with that, let me know.

DDClient: http://ddclient.sourceforge.net
ZoneEdit: http://www.zoneedit.com

Common Open Ports taken from ctroyp's post but edited ;)
Code:

    Port 21 (tcp) is open (ftp)!
    Port 22 (tcp) is open (ssh)! <-- Caution!
    Port 25 (tcp) is open (smtp)!
    Port 80 (tcp) is open (http)!
    Port 81 (tcp) is open (ISPConfig)!
    Port 110 (tcp) is open (pop3)!
    Port 443 (tcp) is open (https)!


falko 28th September 2005 09:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by dianer
what I would like to know is where do we put the website information.....if my thinking is correct, it goes into the management area on ispconfig panel....

You mean where you can create and edit web sites in ISPConfig? It's under ISP Manager, not Management. Please have a look at the manuals.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.