HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Can't see Fedora box from Windows XP box. (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6744)

wvsailor 8th September 2006 21:29

Can't see Fedora box from Windows XP box.
 
I have a Fedora Core 5 box on my Windows network now, and it can see and access windows files and folders. The windows machine can NOT see the fedora box. I followed the Perfect Setup. I'm still trying to learn ispConfig and get my "main" webpage up, but that's an entirely different issue. I'm reading the manuals and will post if I have problems with that... BUT...

How do i share the Linux file system with the rest of the network, but still make sure is protected from the internet hacks? :confused:

jjw 8th September 2006 22:06

What are you trying to share? Storage space? You could create a user called storage on the new machine, and then have your LAN access it via an FTP client or SFTP. A couple of years ago I came across a nice client called winscp for Windows machines:

http://winscp.net/eng/index.php

wvsailor 8th September 2006 22:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjw
What are you trying to share? Storage space? You could create a user called storage on the new machine, and then have your LAN access it via an FTP client or SFTP. A couple of years ago I came across a nice client called winscp for Windows machines:

http://winscp.net/eng/index.php

Keep in mind I'm a major newbie to *nix systems...

I tried connecting via ftp with filezilla using the ip address of the box (192.168.0.100) to upload my webpages for my main domain. I wanted to have my page up before I went "live". This is the response:

Status: Connecting to 192.168.0.100 ...
Status: Connected with 192.168.0.100. Waiting for welcome message...
Response: 220 FTP Server ready.
Command: USER root
Response: 331 Password required for root.
Command: PASS ********
Response: 530 Login incorrect.
Error: Unable to connect!

I know it's the correct password since I had just logged into the box as root. Somehow, somewhere, it looks as if I don't have the correct username and/or password. I even tried logging in as "admin" for the main user of ispConfig.

I CAN login to ipConfig via https://192.168.0.100:100:81 so I tried ftps://192.168.0.100 and the response:

Status: Connecting to 192.168.0.100 ...
Status: Connected with 192.168.0.100, negotiating SSL connection...
Error: Can't establish SSL connection
Error: Disconnected from server
Error: Unable to connect!

jjw 8th September 2006 23:10

I'm a nobb too. :)

Keep in mind that FTP sends username/password in clear text, and your FTP daemon may not allow root to loging remotely. In fact, you can set up the SSH daemon to also disallow root login. this is a good thing.

How about making a new user and loggin in as this user instead of root?

/usr/sbin/useradd newUser

passwd newUser
<- you are prompted twice for the password for newUser

jjw 8th September 2006 23:18

You should try the winscp client I linked to above. It has drag and drop capability, and you can even edit the files on your server through this client.

And SFTP does not send username/password in plain text. ;)

FTP: File Transfer Protocol
SFTP: Secure Fire Tansfer Protocol

wvsailor 9th September 2006 01:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjw
You should try the winscp client I linked to above. It has drag and drop capability, and you can even edit the files on your server through this client.

And SFTP does not send username/password in plain text. ;)

FTP: File Transfer Protocol
SFTP: Secure Fire Tansfer Protocol

I don't think it'll work since my windows box doesn't see my fedora box. I'm sure it has to do with a setting about file sharing or something with the settings, I'm just not sure where they are, what they SHOULD be running ispConfig, and if I can change them or not.

jjw 9th September 2006 02:33

Oh I get it. Can't see it.

Are they both on the same network? Same subnet? Can one ping the other? Can they both ping the router?

wvsailor 9th September 2006 04:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjw
Oh I get it. Can't see it.

Are they both on the same network? Same subnet? Can one ping the other? Can they both ping the router?

If I go to the router, i can see both of my computers listed as "attached" hardware. I can see my windows box from my fedora box, but I can't see my fedora box while looking in "network neighborhood" on the xp box.

I can ping the fedora box from the windows box, and ping the windows box from the fedora box. Both are on the same router, with the same subnet. I've assigned static ip's to both (Win = 192.168.0.50 Fedora 192.168.0.100 both have a subnet of 255.255.255.0). I can access the internet from both.

jjw 9th September 2006 11:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by wvsailor
If I go to the router, i can see both of my computers listed as "attached" hardware. I can see my windows box from my fedora box, but I can't see my fedora box while looking in "network neighborhood" on the xp box.

I can ping the fedora box from the windows box, and ping the windows box from the fedora box. Both are on the same router, with the same subnet. I've assigned static ip's to both (Win = 192.168.0.50 Fedora 192.168.0.100 both have a subnet of 255.255.255.0). I can access the internet from both.


Okay, I get it. I think you want to use Samba or SMB to allow Windows users, using Network Neighborhood, to access the Fedora server. I get it now.

You might check this out for SMB background:
http://samba.anu.edu.au/cifs/docs/what-is-smb.html

And this for 'How To':
http://www.reallylinux.com/docs/basicnetworking.shtml

Ben 9th September 2006 13:32

To easier set up Samba stuff, try SWAT. It is a webinterface but you should only activate it if you really want to change anything in your configs.

I would no use this neighbourhood stuff from windows. I Prefer directly typing the IP in to the URL-bar because that's much faster than browsing the neighboorhood folders and waiting for windows to look the whole stuff up.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:21.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.