HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   My Email go to Bulk in Yahoo as a Spam mail, why? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=640)

lexcomputer 22nd September 2005 11:56

My Email go to Bulk in Yahoo as a Spam mail, why?
 
I have tried many times sending email to Yahoo and Hotmail. The result is that my emails are in their junk mail folder.

But when I sent to Gmail, it works fine.

Do I have any misstake? Do I have to check at Maildir?

* I use Mandriva with postfix according to http://www.falkotimme.com/howtos/per...mandrake_10_2/

thanks

domino 22nd September 2005 12:05

1. mark the domain in question as not spam in yahoo
2. if running server from home network, do a whois.sc and see if your isp is listed in spam.
3. read here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343

Hope that helps

falko 22nd September 2005 12:24

I don't know if this is already the case, but I read something that Hotmail isn't going to accept emails from domains that have SPF set up. :( Maybe it's the same with Yahoo. You might have to create an SPF record in DNS for your Domain.

domino 22nd September 2005 12:28

I have tested both yahoo and msn and neither site junked any of my mail. It is true the MSN isn't setting up a SPF. I don't think yahoo will go a long way as long as SPF is enabled on there mail servers. Way too many corp. users' email get junked because of it.

edit: I re-read and I got it backwards. MSN was going to use SPF.. My appologies.

In other words, please ignore this post. It makes no sense. :mad:

lexcomputer 22nd September 2005 15:53

SPF Record
 
I server is at co-location place. There has DNS server for me already. Do I have to setup SPF record on my server?

In ISPConfig Management-> Server setting -> DNS, I just edit default Ns1 and Ns2 as the ISP DNS server instead my co-location server. I don't know whether it helps or not.

falko 22nd September 2005 18:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by lexcomputer
I server is at co-location place. There has DNS server for me already. Do I have to setup SPF record on my server?

In ISPConfig Management-> Server setting -> DNS, I just edit default Ns1 and Ns2 as the ISP DNS server instead my co-location server. I don't know whether it helps or not.

You must create the SPF record on the DNS server that is authoritative for your domain. You can run
Code:

dig yourdomain.com
to find out what servers are authoritative for your domain.

lexcomputer 12th October 2005 08:23

Asking about mail header (to:)
 
When I sent out email the To header is

kli4587@gmail.com, mamm2548@yahoo.com@example.mydomain.com

1.why example.mydomain.com is there?

2. Does it make any problem when I sent mail?

In fact, I had change it to ns.mydomain.net in ISPConfig->Management->Setting hostname = ns
Domain = mydomain.net

idhanu 15th February 2008 12:45

Finally I have found the solution!!!!
 
This happens because of you don't have a signature to send mails..

Visit this blog and it gives a really good answer for your question..

http://bestdeveloper.blogspot.com/


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.