HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6252)

teedo757 16th August 2006 18:18

Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1
 
Ok I setup ISPconfig and now I am having trouble connecting to it. I am able to connect https://192.168.1.xxx:81 from on the server (fedora core 5) but not from any other computer on the network. When I restart ISPconfig i get this alert:"ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName." I dont know if this is part of the problem but it might be. I have opened port 81 on the firewall but I continue to get a page not displayed message. Also I have a domain name setup for the server however even on the server itself I need to put in https://192.168.1.xxx:81 and cant put in https://sitename:81 for it to work. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks

edge 16th August 2006 19:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by teedo757
Ok I setup ISPconfig and now I am having trouble connecting to it. I am able to connect https://192.168.1.xxx:81 from on the server (fedora core 5) but not from any other computer on the network. When I restart ISPconfig i get this alert:"ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName." I dont know if this is part of the problem but it might be. I have opened port 81 on the firewall but I continue to get a page not displayed message. Also I have a domain name setup for the server however even on the server itself I need to put in https://192.168.1.xxx:81 and cant put in https://sitename:81 for it to work. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks

Why are you hiding the xxx part of that IP if I may ask?
I mean.. If you do it for that IP you should also do it for the 127.0.0.1 IP! :-)

teedo757 17th August 2006 02:28

...
 
Please respond to the question.....127.0.0.1 is a special address that calls your own computer everyone knows that, i did not show my internal ip address for my network because that could compromise my network and allow others to know how things are setup internally. If you have an answer to the question it would be greatly appriciated if not please do not respond!

edge 17th August 2006 08:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by teedo757
Ok I setup ISPconfig and now I am having trouble connecting to it. I am able to connect https://192.168.1.xxx:81 from on the server (fedora core 5) but not from any other computer on the network. When I restart ISPconfig i get this alert:"ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName." I dont know if this is part of the problem but it might be. I have opened port 81 on the firewall but I continue to get a page not displayed message. Also I have a domain name setup for the server however even on the server itself I need to put in https://192.168.1.xxx:81 and cant put in https://sitename:81 for it to work. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks

What did you use as the fully qualified domain name when you installed ISPconfig?

till 17th August 2006 10:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by teedo757
Ok I setup ISPconfig and now I am having trouble connecting to it. I am able to connect https://192.168.1.xxx:81 from on the server (fedora core 5) but not from any other computer on the network. When I restart ISPconfig i get this alert:"ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName." I dont know if this is part of the problem but it might be. I have opened port 81 on the firewall but I continue to get a page not displayed message. Also I have a domain name setup for the server however even on the server itself I need to put in https://192.168.1.xxx:81 and cant put in https://sitename:81 for it to work. Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks

It seems you did not configure a hostanme for your server. What is the output of:

Code:

hostname -f
and what is in the file: /etc/hosts

teedo757 17th August 2006 19:34

you are right but I dont know how to name it.

[root@zuzu install_ispconfig]# hostname -f
hostname: Unknown host

/etc/hosts - contains
[root@zuzu etc]# cat hosts
# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost zuzu


Do I make the change in the /etc/hosts file to change the domain name?

narut0b0y 18th August 2006 09:08

if your going to access it on your local network,

* edit the network file under /etc/sysconfig and put HOSTNAME=[your hostname]

# cd /etc/sysconfig
# vi network

HOSTNAME=testserver <--- network file should contain this, just change the "testserver" with your choice hostname. don't forget to save.

* on your hosts file, add 192.168.1.xxx [your hostname]

# cd /etc
# vi hosts

# Do not remove the following line, or various programs
# that require network functionality will fail.
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost zuzu
192.168.1.xxx testserver <--- change the "testserver" with your choice hostname. don't forget to save.

* restart network service and ispconfig <--- not sure if you still have to this

# service network restart
# service ispconfig_server restart

* also add 192.168.1.xxx [your hostname] on the hosts file of the client pc or workstation that will access your ispconfig. if the client workstation o.s. is windows 2000 professional, the hosts file is located at [windows folder]\system32\drivers\etc

127.0.0.1 localhost
192.168.1.xxx testserver <--- change the "testserver" with your choice hostname. don't forget to save.

kaanadanali 18th August 2006 09:29

"ispconfig_httpd: Could not determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName."

not to get that alert

in
/root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

i change ServerName like this:

ServerName hostname.domain.tld.

till 18th August 2006 09:50

To set the hostname of your server, execute these two commands:

Quote:

echo server1.example.com > /etc/hostname
/bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname
"server1.example.com" must be replaced with your hostname

teedo757 23rd August 2006 03:49

Ok it fixed the error message by using what kaanadanali said (also tried everyone elses fixes) but I am still unable to connect to ISPconfig via the web address. I still get a page cannot be displayed error. Any suggestions on where to start looking?

Plus when I go to the website (not the https) it says that the address is a shared Ip but I am pretty sure I set up the web site correctly in ISPconfig...actually its the only one I have setup.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.