HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   2 sites points to same folder (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62394)

ergec 28th June 2013 16:46

2 sites points to same folder
 
I just installed a fresh server following exact same steps with this link

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ot-ispconfig-3

everything went flawless and server works fine.

this is a test server under university so I have two domains to test

primary.uni.edu and secondary.uni.edu

I setup server as primary.uni.edu

by default apache runs under /var/www/html and shows my index file properly

I created a site under ispconfig for primary.uni.edu so primary site now works under /var/www/primary.uni.edu -> /var/www/clients/client2/web3/

I put my index file here and yes new setup works fine too

then I created another site for secondary.uni.edu
folder for this is /var/www/secondary.uni.edu -> /var/www/clients/client3/web4/

Problem starts here, new account secondary.uni.edu shows ispconfig standart files using shell, which supposed to display ispconfig default page in browser

but

instead secondary.uni.edu displays primary.uni.edu index file in browser.

what might be the reason?

I never had any problems or tweaks during installation and configuration.

till 28th June 2013 17:18

ensure that you dont mix * and IP's in website settings on your server. Either use * for both sites or the Ip for both sites.

ergec 28th June 2013 20:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 299207)
ensure that you dont mix * and IP's in website settings on your server. Either use * for both sites or the Ip for both sites.

tried both * and IP but no luck. btw when I just type IP in browser, same page opens (files under primary) does this mean something?

ergec 29th June 2013 13:06

now we created a third domain and put and index.html saying "third one" and now all three domains primary secondary and third opens same "third" page

what's going on I've no idea?!?!

ergec 9th July 2013 20:08

Found the solution

edit /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

at the end of the file I commented out these lines having ports

#NameVirtualHost *:80
#NameVirtualHost *:443
Include /etc/httpd/conf/sites-enabled/

then restarted apache. now all sites run under their folder


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:01.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.