HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Configuring a multi-server setup - name-server (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62382)

ginner159 27th June 2013 14:22

Configuring a multi-server setup - name-server
 
hi all,

ive just got a new 128mb vps which i'm using for a secondary name server.

I have installed Debian 6 64bit minimal install (overkill for small ram but just to keep everything the same :D) and noticed upon first update it had apache2 installed.

I have been using the create your own DNS tutorial:
http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-run...debian-squeeze
but just for adding to my existing server running ispconfig 3.

What im wondering is, would i be ok to remove Apache from the name-server box without it messing anything up also what else would you recommend to remove or tune up?

cheers
matt

till 27th June 2013 15:56

Quote:

What im wondering is, would i be ok to remove Apache from the name-server box without it messing anything up also what else would you recommend to remove or tune up?
dont remove pache, just stop it so it does not use resources:

/etc/init.d/apache2 stop
update-rc.d -f apache2 remove

ginner159 27th June 2013 16:43

Ok cheers. Anything else you can think of to tweek?

ginner159 27th June 2013 18:33

would i be right in thinking i can stop sendmail?

id10t 9th July 2013 04:55

128mb of ram is plenty for basic web, mail, etc. My first VPS was 32mb and over the years linode has upgraded me so I now have 1gb ram for my $20/mo. Transfer has gone from 200mb to 2tb, and cpu speed has gone up.

But I still create LOTS of 32mb and 64mb servers in virtualbox to set up lab exercises for my students. They work fine.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:43.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.