HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   subdomain not properly working (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62244)

Quijote Shin 16th June 2013 04:19

subdomain not properly working
 
Hi everyone!
a few months ago e installed and configures ispconfig, i like it!
and keep it to my personal host.
so.. what now?

i wonder cuz i access a domain that i own, via a blackberry..
blackberry add the 'www'. so... when i try to access it .. don't show the domain content but the content of /var/www/index.html

this on every domain that i host.... this is not normal..

for one domain specific domain i choose the '*.' as in the manual shows to get all subdomains pointing to domain.com

but never work.. thanks to blackberry i tried 'hello.domain.com' 'www.domain.com' non work.

al leads me to '/var/www' directory content.

please help!!!

tahunasky 16th June 2013 04:54

Did you add sites in ISPConfig.
If you dont add a domain to SITES it will default to the root of your webserver (eg: /var/www).

Quijote Shin 16th June 2013 19:18

Shure,
i can access the domain http://domain.tld
it leads me to the 'site' root folder.

but if i try
http://whatever.domain.tld
leads me to the whole apache documents root folder '/var/www/'


i just notice it thanks to an blackberry mobile.


its kinda weird.. i can't figure out whats going on..

I add zones with the Add Zone wizzard, and don't touch any records, i just do what the ispconfig 3 manual says.



thanks for the reply!

tahunasky 17th June 2013 02:35

for www subdomain thats done with Auto-Subdomain when you setup a website, or you can have *. for redirect all subdomains to the site root folder.

if you want to setup a subdomain called ICE for domain MYSITE.COM (ice.mydomain.com), you would go to SITES/SUBDOMAIN OF WEBSITE and then put:

Host -> ice
Domain -> mydomain.com
Redirect Type -> L
Redirect Path -> /ice/

Active -> check

Redirection Types - what the URL in web browser will be:
L = ice.mydomain.com => ice.mydomain.com
R = ice.mydomain.com => mydomain.com/ice

Then add the dns CNAME or A record for ICE, restart apache and it should work.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.