HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Importing Websites (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=62070)

SaltireH 3rd June 2013 17:43

Importing Websites
 
Hi,
I have had a quic search round the forums.. but can`t see much of this.. is it possible to import from cpanel, or import site backups?

falko 4th June 2013 18:26

No, you have to do this manually. This link might be of interest: http://www.howtoforge.com/using-wget...es-recursively

SaltireH 4th June 2013 19:45

ah.. hmm, thats not great.. :( 200+ accounts to move.. 1 at a time... :eek:

secondary question.. apache 2 or nginx?

monkfish 4th June 2013 23:56

Hello OP

Few random things for you, mostly not ISPConfig specific but migration in general..

- Do you have complete access to the source server? Are the sites flat-file based or sql-based, eg CMS system or similar? A mixture?

- You may be able to tar or gzip the web contents on the original server, unpack to temporary folder on destination server, chmod as appropriate then move into right place.

- If using some kind of CMS, check to see if its got a backup/restore database function inside it - you may get good results using first the ISPConfig APS installer to deploy the CMS framework (if available) then restoring portal contents accordingly.

- Perhaps create yourself some kind of a checklist for the domains - discover if any require particular PEAR or PHP modules that may not be on the server by default? Or any particular libraries that need installing. Last thing you want is to move a site and discover you've lost functionality because of XYZ library missing.

- You will also have to think about dns entries - if you have to change addresses for A records eg. www.yourdomain.com or MX records for email.
Its as well a few days before you start moving anything to reduce TTL values to quite low, perhaps 600 seconds so when you make your dns changes you can guarantee uniform within a short period and no stale caches.

- Perhaps think about email for each site as well. What are you running on old and will it be same as new? Maildir format or mbox? Will you have to convert? Will mail clients have to be changed for any new settings?

- regarding apache or nginx thats only something you can decide based upon site requirements. nginx is known to have a smaller memory footprint and in certain circumstances outperform apache.
Perhaps http://www.wikivs.com/wiki/Apache_vs_nginx may give you an insight?

- You may find a dummy domain useful to point to new ISPConfig server in order test and check a migration strategy from old to new and highlight areas you need to address.

Good luck with your migration to ISPConfig - it will be worth it.

HTH

SaltireH 5th June 2013 09:07

Thanks for that info Monkfish...


websites are a mixture of flat file, html & various CMS`s (wordpress etc)
So whilst some of them will be straight forward, some wont....getting backups of all sites will also be easy.
Ive already tried a couple of test imports using wget, but that didn't work too well, files weren't put in correct place, So I`ll need to read up a bit on that.
Then when I manually ftp`d file to correct location, I couldn't really test site, cpanel gives you a temporary url xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/~username where you can check site, but I couldnt do that with ispconfig (Ive probably missed something)

Ive already set TTL low on DNS, so that bit is done.

ISPConfig, does look to be the best of the free panels.. even better than some of the paid ones, but it doesn't make it easy to move established setups into it. Not a complaint, just an observation :)
I`ll persevere for now & continue with my testing & evaluation. :)

monkfish 5th June 2013 09:53

Hello SaltireH,

Code:

I couldn't really test site
Depending on network configuration you may be able to override the site by placing an entry in a local hosts file on your desktop to point to new ip address instead of old.

If using linux use /etc/hosts and set "order hosts,bind" in /etc/host.conf.
If using windows place an entry in c:\windows\system32\etc\drivers\hosts"

That should allow you to point to new site and do some testing.

Quote:

move established setups into it
one for the developers? I think there may already be a request in there for some sort of migration module from, eg. a cpanel backup. Have a look in the ispconfig roadmap or bugtracker see if there is a feature request - if not why not request it?

SaltireH 5th June 2013 12:02

Code:

Code:

I couldn't really test site

Depending on network configuration you may be able to override the site by placing an entry in a local hosts file on your desktop to point to new ip address instead of old.

If using linux use /etc/hosts and set "order hosts,bind" in /etc/host.conf.
If using windows place an entry in c:\windows\system32\etc\drivers\hosts"

That should allow you to point to new site and do some testing.

yeh, seen that :) would get to be a pain testing multiple sites :)


Code:

move established setups into it
one for the developers? I think there may already be a request in there for some sort of migration module from, eg. a cpanel backup. Have a look in the ispconfig roadmap or bugtracker see if there is a feature request - if not why not request it?

Didnt see anything in the bugtack/roadmap, but I`ll do a request :)

monkfish 5th June 2013 12:47

Don't think it *would* be a pain other than building an initial hosts file?

You will still have to create the site, etc in ispconfig on the new server, whether manually or through the remote API.

Will definitely give you a chance to test as appropriate before making live dns changes. Just thinking, thats all.

SaltireH 5th June 2013 21:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by monkfish (Post 298189)
Don't think it *would* be a pain other than building an initial hosts file?

You will still have to create the site, etc in ispconfig on the new server, whether manually or through the remote API.

Will definitely give you a chance to test as appropriate before making live dns changes. Just thinking, thats all.

well sorta would be a pain, if I wanted to test all sites as I transfered.. :)

till 6th June 2013 08:07

Quote:

Then when I manually ftp`d file to correct location, I couldn't really test site, cpanel gives you a temporary url xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/~username where you can check site, but I couldnt do that with ispconfig (Ive probably missed something)
You can do this in ispconfig as well in asimilar way, see System > server config > web > website auto alias.

Btw, the plesk feature only works for very simple sites or plain html sites. You cant use it for compley cms systems that need a proper url path or use rewriting. So the only way thats 100% reliable is the way monkfish described.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.