HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Linking ispconfig3 port to example.com/admin/ (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61970)

ginner159 25th May 2013 22:36

Linking ispconfig3 port to example.com/admin/
 
hi all!

I sucessfully followed the guide to installing debian, isp3 dovecot and squirrel ect with a couple of tweeks to get it to actually work.

I was wondering is it possible to do something like the guide does for webmail so it can be accessed at mail.domain.com or domain.com/webmail but for ispconfig port?

something along the lines of admin.domain.com or domain.com/admin/ instead of domain.com:8080 but have it work for all hosted domains *.com/admin

Thanks in advance. I will say im not a total noob at *nix but im getting better so please be nice to me :)

agord 28th May 2013 17:59

I would use subdomains :) are friendly..

ex.: admin.domain.com

1 -> go to dns
2 -> your zone
3 -> DNS records
4 -> add new A
4 ->
host: admin
IP: your server IP
SAVE
5 -> go to Sites
6 -> Add subdomain (i imagine that you have a domain already)
7 ->
host: admin
domain.com
Redirection: L
Route: https://www.domain.com:8080
SAVE

8 -> TEST :D

Regards!
aycral.com

ginner159 28th May 2013 19:20

Thanks for your reply! Ill try it later when I'm home.

Just a quick thought. Did u mean to put an 'A' record? Would CName work too?
I have the DNS on cloudflare (not brave enough yet to roll my own lol)

agord 28th May 2013 19:32

From my point of view i would use A record because DNS lookup directly returns IP Address to the client.

A points from domain to ip and CNAME points from name to name...

Ex.:
your.domain.com. IN A 190.90.1.5
yoursub.domain.com. IN CNAME server2.srv.com

Regards
aycral.com

ginner159 1st June 2013 20:14

It works but ...
 
Thanks for that it works great!

Only one little thing tho. would it be possible to make it so that when they go to admin.domain.com it dosent show my hosting domain in the url bar.

i.e at the moment it does this:

admin.domain.com ---> admin.myhost.com:8080

can it do this:
admin.domain.com --> admin.domain.com:8080

thanks again
matt

agord 2nd June 2013 17:22

(we are talking about APACHE) At first sight you will find some tutorials that use "rewrite" URL... but its not the solution.
In this case you will be proxying I suggest you to read more about using "mod_proxy"

i give you an example from the official doc:

########################################

Code:

RewriteRule ^/(.*) http://other.example.com/$1 [P]

# is better expressed as..
ProxyPass / http://other.example.com/

#########################################

Official wiki: http://wiki.apache.org/httpd/WhenNotToUseRewrite

Im with less time this week may be the next one i create a little tutorial as reply :)

Regards!
aycral.com


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.