HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   server reached MaxClient settings, consider raising the MaxClients setting (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6197)

edge 14th August 2006 16:59

server reached MaxClient settings, consider raising the MaxClients setting
 
My Apache2 sometimes gets really slow..

Looking at the log file it's showing server reached MaxClient settings, consider raising the MaxClients setting at the times apache is slow, so I guess that this is causing the slowdown.

After some googling I found this.

The problem now is that I do not have MaxClients in the /etc/apache2/httpd.conf , but I do have it in /etc/apache2/apache2.conf

In apache2.conf I have to times a MaxClients!

Code:

<IfModule prefork.c>
StartServers 50
MinSpareServers 50
MaxSpareServers 200
MaxClients 256
MaxRequestsPerChild 1
</IfModule>

<IfModule worker.c>
StartServers        2
MaxClients        150
MinSpareThreads    25
MaxSpareThreads    75
ThreadsPerChild    25
MaxRequestsPerChild  0
</IfModule>


Do I need to set both MaxClients, or do I need to add a MaxClients to the httpd.conf?

Also. The server (Debain Sarge 3.1) has 4GB of memory.. Will a MacClients of lets say 1000 be okay?

falko 15th August 2006 16:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by edge
Do I need to set both MaxClients

I guess you use prefork (as most installations do), so set it in the prefork stanza.

Quote:

Originally Posted by edge
or do I need to add a MaxClients to the httpd.conf?

No, httpd.conf is included in apache2.conf, so there's no need to set it in httpd.conf.

Quote:

Originally Posted by edge
Also. The server (Debain Sarge 3.1) has 4GB of memory.. Will a MacClients of lets say 1000 be okay?

Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ght=MaxClients
Normally, the upperl imit for MaxClients is 256. If you need a higher value, you must also set ServerLimit.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:32.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.