HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   DNS problems (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61828)

alecvannoten 13th May 2013 09:57

DNS problems
 
Hi,

something odd is happening:

I have a multiserver setup with ISPconfig 3.0.5.2 and Debian 6 on all servers

my master server (web01) which also acts to serve my own sites also holds the ISPconfig CP.

I have two DNS servers: dns01 and dns02, dns02 is a mirror of dns01.

I have multiple domains, for example domain1.be and domain2.com

when I edit settings (e.g. add a new A record/subdomain) for domain.be, all works fine and the DNS server takes over the new config and dns02 mirrors it perfectly.

BUT when I add a new A record for domain2.com the DNS servers don't take over the new configuration...

So it can't be a
- firewall issue
- connection to master DB issue

Also the option of max dns records is set to '-1' in the client template.

what to do?

till 13th May 2013 10:03

Please see here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58408

alecvannoten 13th May 2013 10:28

Ok I read the post and did the following:

dig @ns1.alecvannoten.net test.alecvannoten.net

Code:

; <<>> DiG 9.7.6-P1 <<>> @ns1.alecvannoten.net test.alecvannoten.net
; (1 server found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 40840
;; flags: qr aa rd; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; WARNING: recursion requested but not available

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;test.alecvannoten.net.                IN        A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
alecvannoten.net.        3600        IN        SOA        ns1.alecvannoten.net. hostmaster.alecvannoten.net. 2013051107 7200 540 1209600 10800

;; Query time: 24 msec
;; SERVER: 141.138.192.235#53(141.138.192.235)
;; WHEN: Mon May 13 09:19:51 2013
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 90

I waited long enough because the task was not in the jobqueue anymore.

than I did this http://www.faqforge.com/linux/debugg...-of-a-failure/
> no results/errors.

here are some excerpts from the syslog of the dns01 server

Code:

May 13 07:58:02 dns01 named[1166]: reloading configuration succeeded
May 13 07:58:02 dns01 named[1166]: reloading zones succeeded
May 13 07:58:02 dns01 named[1166]: dns_rdata_fromtext: /etc/bind/pri.alecvannoten.net:19: near '_caldav._tcp.': bad name (check-names)
May 13 07:58:02 dns01 named[1166]: zone alecvannoten.net/IN: loading from master file /etc/bind/pri.alecvannoten.net failed: bad name (check-names)
May 13 07:58:02 dns01 named[1166]: zone alecvannoten.net/IN: not loaded due to errors.

Code:

May 13 08:02:43 dns01 named[1166]: client 64.85.73.124#16414: query (cache) 'test.alecvannoten.net.sav.sea.dotster.net/A/IN' denied
May 13 08:03:01 dns01 /USR/SBIN/CRON[30283]: (root) CMD (/usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh > /dev/null 2>> /var/log/ispconfig/cron.log)
May 13 08:03:49 dns01 named[1166]: client 64.85.73.124#2130: query (cache) 'test.alecvannoten.net.sav.sea.dotster.net/A/IN' denied

etc...

maybe the zonefile for alecvannoten.net is corrupt?

EDIT WITH NEW INFO:

I looked in the config file of alecvannoten.net at /etc/bind and this file is updated correctly whenever I change, delete, add... DNS records...

I stopped, restarded, reloaded config etc... Nothing happening?

till 13th May 2013 11:20

Line 13 of the file is wrong. Check the record that you added regarding caldav in ispconfig dns module of that zone, it is not correct so that bind refuses to load the zone.

alecvannoten 13th May 2013 20:22

fixed, once again thanks Till!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.