HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   DNS Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61584)

ggirtsou 24th April 2013 06:35

DNS Configuration
 
Hello everyone,

I'm new to ispconfig and I have recently installed it on a dedicated server.

I find it tricky to setup DNS since I am new to all this.

Here's what I did: I installed ISPconfig (ver 3.0.5.2) on a Ubuntu machine (amd) and got it working.

I can only access it via IP since I haven't set up the DNS correctly. I just found this guide: http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-run...debian-squeeze

which explains in detail how to do that. Is there any way I can do it on the same machine? The above guide says I need two servers.

I have two IPs right now but I would like to avoid the cost of buying a new server.

Please let me know if that's possible.

SunnyD 24th April 2013 06:47

There's no need if you're just running a single server. Simply create two host entries both pointing to the same IP address for your domain's name servers.

Technically you only NEED one DNS server. Additional servers are only to conform to RFC spec and for failover purposes (ie: "Just in case").

The only part of the particular HowTo you linked that you should pay attention to in this case Step 5 and 8. Note: Step 8 will likely be different based on who your domain registrar is.

ggirtsou 24th April 2013 06:53

Well the thing is that I already have installed ISPConfig3 to my server and the guide says I need another server as well.

When I go to System -> Services there's no "Add" button to add a new server.

SunnyD 24th April 2013 06:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by ggirtsou (Post 296252)
Well the thing is that I already have installed ISPConfig3 to my server and the guide says I need another server as well.

When I go to System -> Services there's no "Add" button to add a new server.

Which guide did you use to install ISPConfig with?

ggirtsou 24th April 2013 09:24

I used this guide: http://www.ispconfig.org/news/tutori...t-ispconfig-3/

Followed everything step-by-step.

SunnyD 24th April 2013 15:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by ggirtsou (Post 296258)
I used this guide: http://www.ispconfig.org/news/tutori...t-ispconfig-3/

Followed everything step-by-step.

Alright, so then you should have installed the package BIND as part of that process.

Did you set up a DNS Zone for your domain in the ISPConfig control panel? Did you also register your name server with your domain registrar as the authoritative name server for the domain? Without the latter in particular, the internet at large won't know to use your server for DNS lookups on your domain at all.

See this HowTo:http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-run...and-fast-hosts

The last section (about Fast Hosts) will be different based on who your domain registrar is, but the basics are still the same - you need to register your name server with your registrar before everyone will know where to look.

And as I said in the previous post, there is no need to run two servers at this time. Just create two name server DNS names pointing to the same IP address and it will work fine.

ggirtsou 24th April 2013 15:24

Thanks for sharing this! I just read this and now it works. Thanks so much!

Maybe these two guides should be somehow linked together for people like me.

SunnyD 24th April 2013 19:13

Glad you're up and running! DNS is probably one of the harder things to figure out with the whole thing, and yes, the Perfect Server guides tend to assume you already have an idea on the many different ways to configure DNS and how to set up the DNS zones. Enjoy!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.