HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Two PHP versions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=61294)

erkan 4th April 2013 16:54

Two PHP versions
 
If I follow this guide so I get both PHP 5.3 and 5.4 on my server:

http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-use...bian-wheezy-p3

How do I do when it's time to upgrade for example from PHP 5.4.12 to PHP 5.4.13?

Becuase it's very easy when you get it from dotdeb just to runt apt-get update and upgrade but I guess you can't do that if you install PHP like this.

MaddinXx 4th April 2013 20:33

You have to recompile with the newer version. If you want to replace it (e.g. 5.4.12 with 5.4.13) make sure to have same "provides" name.

E.g. use php-5.4 rather than php-5.4.12 (otherwise they will get installed side by side).

On the other hand, you could install every version by it's own (I do it like this) and switch from within ISPConfig.

erkan 4th April 2013 20:49

So if I have PHP 5.4.12 and when 5.4.13 comes I can install it side by side and make a new PHP version in ISP Config for 5.4.13?

But after some time I get a lot of PHP versions, can I remove the old version from the server? I won't use it anymore after the new version so why keep it.

MaddinXx 4th April 2013 20:55

Yes, you can have as many versions as you want. Removing them should be as easy as deleting all files of it (in /opt/ /etc/ etc.)

You might not want to keep every version within a version (5.4.12, 5.4.13 etc.) but probably one of each "main" release (5.3.x, 5.4.x, 5.2.x) if a clients needs a specific one.

erkan 4th April 2013 21:01

Ok I see.

But it seems like a lot of work compared to just replace the old version.

If I want to be able to replace the old version with a new should I name the directory 5.4 instead of 5.4.12? Do I have to uninstall the old version before installing the new on or can I install the new one over the old one? I'm not sure I follow you there.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:24.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.