HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   504 Bad gateway, Fedoracore 5 ISPconfig (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6110)

main3 9th August 2006 21:00

504 Bad gateway, Fedoracore 5 ISPconfig
 
504 Bad gateway,

I would need some help for this bad gateway error 504.

It has been up to 4 installs following the http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_5 Fedora core 5 ISP install. Last night I finally got every thing to work even ISPConfig. How ever I am having some errors with error 504 Bad Gateway.

If I Ping ns1.qcrev.com I get a connection
If I Ping qcrev.com I get a time out.
I could access the ISPConfig and html with the ip but not with the Domain.

I am not sure where I SCR&& up but any guidance would be appreciated.

Server Settings.

Dell PowerEdge 750

Intel Hypertread PIV 3.2
4GB ram ECC
80 GB SATA HD 10000RPM

Ethr0 Static IP
Ethr1 Private IP

Running Fedora Core 5

All these have been installed and seem to work fine.

• Httpd (virtual hosts, domain and IP based)
• FTP
• Bind (A, CNAME, MX and SPF Records)
• POP3 Auto-Responder
• MySQL client-databases
• Webalizer statistics
• Harddisk quota
• Mail-Quota
• Traffic limits
• IP-addresses
• SSL
• SSI
• Shell-access
• Mailscanner (Antivirus)
• Firewall
I also followed the GoDaddy Guide to create ns1.qcrev.co and ns2.qcrev.com
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
Also when I do this
Code:

dig ns1.qcrev.com
Mabe this is my trouble.

falko 10th August 2006 19:21

Where do you get this 504 error?

I get this:

Code:

dig qcrev.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> qcrev.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached

but
Code:

dig ns1.qcrev.com
is ok. Create an A record for qcrev.com.

What's in /etc/resolv.conf?

main3 16th August 2006 18:20

resolv.cfrg
 
Code:

serache qcrev.com
domain qcrev.com
nameserver 24.200.241.37
nameserver 24.201.245.77

Still not working for me can't get this domain relest to the world. IP works fine, dig command also. I just need A reccord and MX are created in ISPconfig. Just ne a little bit of guidance or even a sample resolv.conf.

Thank you

falko 17th August 2006 18:14

You can use
Code:

nameserver 145.253.2.75
nameserver 193.174.32.18
nameserver 194.25.0.60

in /etc/resolv.conf.
dig qcrev.com is working now:

Code:

dig qcrev.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> qcrev.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 33752
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;qcrev.com.                    IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
qcrev.com.              86400  IN      A      69.70.7.186

;; Query time: 261 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Thu Aug 17 17:11:49 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 43

but
dig ns1.qcrev.com
and
dig ns2.qcrev.com
aren't...

main3 18th August 2006 00:59

Not sure what going on IE troubles
 
Domain http://www.qcrev.com


This seems to work fine with Mozila. how ever with IE we get a blank page. I think for my other question works now

falko 18th August 2006 16:09

It's not working for me (even in Firefox). You need to check your DNS records.
Check out these tutorials to get a deeper understanding of DNS: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dns

main3 18th August 2006 22:14

Network Setup Help
 
Ok,

Here we go I think I figured out.

1-This is my setup.

Cable Modem connects to Cisco SOHO 91 router.

Cisco socket 1 is connected to the Dell Poweredge 750 running Ubuntu distro. IP 69.70.7.186
Cisco socket 2 is connected to D-LINK router PI-704 sharing with 4 other PC.IP 69.70.7.187

If you Ping 69.70.7.187 you should get a response no problem.
If you ping 69.70.7.186 No response.

This definitely confirms that Cisco router is not the trouble.

2- Internal Connection:

From all my PC on the Network I can view the web site doing this.

http://www.qcrev.com
http://localhost
http://69.70.7.186

I can also manage ISPCONFIG with port 81.
I also do these commands and get successful DNS information from all PC.

On my Lunix BOX
Dig @qcrev.com works
Dig ns1.qcrev.com
Dig ns2.qcrev.com

On a Windows XP
Ping www.qcrev.com
Ping ns1.qcrev.com
Ping ns2.qcrev.com
Ping 69.70.7.186

This now confirms that the DNS portion is working fine internally.

Can some one confirm the following?

Where could I have gone wrong with the external signal for others to connect to my box?

I assume it’s in the /etc/hosts.conf

Internal IP 127.0.0.1
Static IP 69.70.7.186
Gateway IP 69.70.7.185
Subnet Mark 255.255.255.248 as per my provider
I have inserted 255.255.255.0 or I could not connect to the internet.

Could some one be kind enough to guide me in to where I should do the modifications?

main3 19th August 2006 00:44

Here is the DIG command from the server.
 
[code]
dido@Poweredge750:~$ dig ns1.qcrev.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> ns1.qcrev.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 43332
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns1.qcrev.com. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
qcrev.com. 3600 IN SOA ns1.qcrev.com. web.qcrev.com 2006081504 28800 7200 604800 86400

;; Query time: 26 msec
;; SERVER: 24.200.241.37#53(24.200.241.37)
;; WHEN: Thu Aug 17 23:50:38 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 77

dido@Poweredge750:~$ dig ns2.qcrev.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> ns2.qcrev.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 38883
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns2.qcrev.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns2.qcrev.com. 5998 IN A 69.70.7.186

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
qcrev.com. 9937 IN NS ns2.qcrev.com.
qcrev.com. 9937 IN NS ns1.qcrev.com.

;; Query time: 11 msec
;; SERVER: 24.200.241.37#53(24.200.241.37)
;; WHEN: Thu Aug 17 23:50:54 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 79

dido@Poweredge750:~$ dig @qcrev.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> @qcrev.com
; (1 server found)
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 14215
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 13, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 13

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;. IN NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
. 518400 IN NS A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS C.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS D.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS E.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS F.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS G.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS H.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS I.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS J.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS K.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS L.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.
. 518400 IN NS M.ROOT-SERVERS.NET.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
A.ROOT-SERVERS.NET. 604800 IN A 198.41.0.4[code]

main3 19th August 2006 01:13

More Info to help any one out that can help me
 
Interfaces config.

Code:

# The file describes the network interfaces available on your system
#and how to activate them. for more information, see interface (5)

# The Primary looback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 69.70.7.186
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 127.0.0.1
        broadcast 69.70.7.186
        gateway 69.70.7.186

iface eth1 inet dhcp5

My resolv.cfrg

Code:

search qcrev.com
domain qcrev.com
nameserver 24.200.241.37
nameserver 24.201.245.77
nameserver 69.70.7.186
nameserver ns1.qcrev.com
nameserver ns2.qcrev.com

My resolv.conf

Code:

search qcrev.com
domain qcrev.com
nameserver 24.200.241.37
nameserver 24.201.245.77

My hosts.conf

Code:

127.0.0.1 localhost Poweredge750
69.70.7.186 www.qcrev.com

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
67.70.7.186 ns1.qcrev.com

Here is netstat -tap

Code:

netstat -tap
(Not all processes could be identified, non-owned process info
 will not be shown, you would have to be root to see it all.)
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address          Foreign Address        State PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 localhost:38821        *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 localhost:45385        *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 *:mysql                *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 *:81                    *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 *:ftp                  *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 www.qcrev.com:domain    *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 localhost:domain        *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 localhost:953          *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp        0      0 localhost:39425        localhost:38821        ESTABLISHED-
tcp        0      0 localhost:38821        localhost:39425        ESTABLISHED-
tcp6      0      0 *:imaps                *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 *:pop3s                *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 *:pop3                  *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 *:imap2                *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 *:www                  *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 *:ssh                  *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 ip6-localhost:953      *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 *:https                *:*                    LISTEN    -
tcp6      0      0 www.qcrev.com:www      telhai.ac.il:52764      TIME_WAIT  -
tcp6      0      0 www.qcrev.com:www      telhai.ac.il:52772      TIME_WAIT  -

By the way thanks Falko

main3 19th August 2006 01:18

Videotron provider info
 
Info from my cable provider.

My IP: 69.70.7.186 and 69.70.7.187
subnet mask 69.70.7.185 and I asume that this is and error I think it should be called Gateway
Gateway (router IP) 255.255.255.248 I guess this should be the subnet mask

DNS 24.200.241.37
DNS 24.201.245.77
DNS 24.200.243


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:00.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.