HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   DNS problem after update (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60972)

sheshes 16th March 2013 03:05

DNS problem after update
 
Guys after some ubuntu upgrades my domains are not resolved at all.

I have been working with the same configuration for 4 months and had no problems. I am using BIND9 and it seems to be running without errors but none of my websites can be resolved. dig also cannot find the domain.

The strange thing is that my emails can be sent and received so the mx record and mail.mydomain.com works.

Can anybody help me find the problem here?

thanks

falko 16th March 2013 12:03

Did you check your domain on intodns.com?

sheshes 16th March 2013 20:30

I have checked it and it gives me some warnings.

1. TLD Parent Check WARNING: Looks like the parent servers do not have information for your TLD when asked. This is ok but can be confusing.

2.SOA EXPIRE Your SOA EXPIRE number is: 100. That is NOT OK

3.Reverse MX A records (PTR) ERROR: No reverse DNS (PTR) entries. The problem MX records are:
18.109.251.46.in-addr.arpa -> no reverse (PTR) detected
You should contact your ISP and ask him to add a PTR record for your ips

The 1st 2 are warnings that I never had before but my domain was reachable for more than a year and the last one (ptr record) is something that I had for 3 years now.

The strange thing is that I cannot even ping my domain but my emails work and in any dns toolbox is recognised and analysed.

If you can please try to browse at www.occhio.com.cy and let me know if you can reach it. otherwise let me know what can I check to find out if anything concerning my setup has been broken since the upgrades.

Thanks falko

falko 17th March 2013 13:23

I can reach your website.

sheshes 18th March 2013 23:01

So it must be something to do with the ISP of my country? I tried at various locations using different ISPs and 3G network as well and cannot be reached, pinged, diged etc

sheshes 18th March 2013 23:15

I also observed that in ISPconfig 3 DNS management the 2 A records where the nameserver refers to xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx it doesn't add the . (dot) after the ns1.domain.com where my.domain.com. A records have a . (dot) Is that correct?

sheshes 20th March 2013 10:52

Falko, I have noticed that when I dig domain.com the additional A records I have setup which point my 2 nameservers to the correct ip don't show up as they should.

In ISPconfig 3 I have setup the A records with ns1.domain.com. to ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Do I have to get rid of the dot a the end to be read? or is it fine as it is

almere 20th March 2013 10:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by sheshes (Post 294323)
Falko, I have noticed that when I dig domain.com the additional A records I have setup which point my 2 nameservers to the correct ip don't show up as they should.

In ISPconfig 3 I have setup the A records with ns1.domain.com. to ip xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx

Do I have to get rid of the dot a the end to be read? or is it fine as it is

Nope. Dot is the standard syntax for DNS records.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.