HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   ISPConfig not updating server (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60827)

JESUSSAVES 5th March 2013 20:00

ISPConfig not updating server
 
Hi,

I'm running ISPConfig version 3.0.4.6 with Debian Squeeze and apache2 from how to installation.

I noticed today my ISPConfig installation has stopped updating my Debian server when it wouldn't create a new database. The records are there in ISPConfig but no database on the server.

I took out a website on ISPConfig and under /var/www/clients/client#/ the original web# was still there and when I put the website back in ISPConfig add a new web# on it's own system but there was no change on the server.

I recycled the server but still not working.

Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this???

till 5th March 2013 20:49

See debug instructions in first post if the ispconfig installation forum.

JESUSSAVES 6th March 2013 01:52

crontab -e
 
Thanks for the help Till.

I've must have done something to ISPConfig's root crontab.

I made an entry to cron to backup a website but nothing happened. I looked at the root crontab entry (but I don't remember what it was, only that ISPConfig was trying to use it). I deleted the cron backup request from ISPConfig and looked again at crontab and the entry was gone. At that time I recreated a crontab myself (crontab -u root filexxx) and made my own entry.

Somehow I must have gotten rid of the root crontab that ISPConfig needed to run the job queue.

So is this entry that's suppose to be in crontab for root:

* * * * * /usr/local/ispconfig/server/server.sh > /dev/null >> /var/log/ispconfig/cron.log ???

As I've said it's no longer there. Should I edit crontab and add this entry? Can I use root crontab for my backups along with what ISPConfig needs it for?

till 6th March 2013 08:48

Quote:

Should I edit crontab and add this entry?
Yes, pleaseadd it again.

Quote:

Can I use root crontab for my backups along with what ISPConfig needs it for?
Yes.Just ensure to not remove or alter the two lines that ispconfig added for the server.sh and cron_daily.sh scripts.

JESUSSAVES 6th March 2013 15:20

cron_daily?
 
Great, thanks again for your help.

I've added the server.sh line and jobs are moving out of the job queue again, but I don't have a line for cron_daily? I don't have any user defined ISPConfig cron jobs for any site.

Do I need another line in root crontab for cron_daily?

till 6th March 2013 15:29

Yes, please add this line as well:

Code:

30 00 * * * /usr/local/ispconfig/server/cron_daily.sh > /dev/null 2>> /var/log/ispconfig/cron.log


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:44.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.