HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Chrooting bind (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60515)

iandoug 11th February 2013 14:47

Chrooting bind
 
Hi

Followed http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...er-ispconfig-3

However now need to make this box a live DNS server and configure another box to act as secondary. Howto for secondary says the first box must CHROOT bind. However the HOWTO specifically says not to do that.

So ... will things still work if I CHROOT bind on the first box? Is there a reason why it is NOT chrooted?

thanks, Ian

till 11th February 2013 15:00

You dont have to chroot bind on the first server to use it a master. Just leave the setup on the master server as it is.

For the slave dns server, you can either use ispconfig to do the dns mirroring or you use the traditional dns replication. Both setups are supported by ispconfig and do not require any changes in the dns setup on the master server.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:38.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.