HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Moving /var to another LVM: Keep quotas? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60162)

ande 8th January 2013 12:45

Moving /var to another LVM: Keep quotas?
 
Hi there,

I have four LVMs on top of a RAID 1, like this:

Code:

Dateisystem          1K‐Blöcke  Benutzt Verfügbar Ben% Eingehängt auf
/dev/mapper/vg0-root  31209468  20995024  8641580  71% /
tmpfs                  4095408        0  4095408  0% /lib/init/rw
udev                  4089952      176  4089776  1% /dev
tmpfs                  4095408        0  4095408  0% /dev/shm
/dev/md0                254699    20116    221431  9% /boot
/dev/mapper/vg0-lv1  104031520    192248  98596392  1% /lv1
/dev/mapper/vg0-lv2  104031520    192248  98596392  1% /lv2
/dev/mapper/vg0-lv3  486220392  8893844 452822436  2% /lv3

As / is getting filled up and I need more space in the future, I'd like to move /var to /lv1.

I thought I'll boot into my rescue system, mount / and /lv1, them move the contents of folder /var into /lv1 (currently empty) - and then I'd need the right /ec/fstab changes in order to make the quota functioning again.

I'm not sure about the mount options - plus it's a production server...

All the lv's are on top of a RAID1 /dev/md1

Any hints?

Added question: Will the links be preserved when I move stuff? Options for moving? rsync -a ?

falko 9th January 2013 12:24

When you are in the rescue system, copy everything from /var 7o /lv1:

Code:

cp -pfr /var/* /lv1/
Rename /var to something else and /lv1 to /var:
Code:

mv /var /var_orig
mv /lv1 /var

Then adjust your /etc/fstab. Mount options should probably be the same as for /.

ande 10th January 2013 01:34

Danke erst mal. Soweit alles verstanden, aber wenn ich im Rescue-System (Hetzner) im / - Filesystem den Ordner /lv1 in (das neue) /var umbenenne, dann hat doch das LVM-System noch nicht verstanden, dass es jetzt nicht auf /lv1 sondern auf /var mounten soll?

Wie vermeide ich da Unsinn?

Danke schon mal...

falko 10th January 2013 19:30

English, please!

It doesn't matter to LVM where you mount a volume.

ande 10th January 2013 19:39

Oh, I'm sorry for switching into German... :)

Thanks, I see.. I overlooked that the mounting command for the logical volume is in /etc/fstab, too.. my bad.

Thanks for answering!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:38.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.