HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Lost connection during install ISPconfig with server (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6003)

comedit 4th August 2006 21:55

Lost connection during install ISPconfig with server
 
I was installing ISPconfig after the perfect setup (debian sarge 3.1).

And somewhere during the beauty of the installscript (I was of to the loo), I have lost connection through putty.

I did put in the ssl part and passphrase, and somewehre after that i have lost the connection.

My question is what to do ?

I can't connect anymore. So do i just restart the machine and do a new install or do I first need to change/delete a few things before doing that.
Or is it something else i need to do.

I have done everything through winscp and putty and I am a noob when it comes to commandlines.

Thanks in advance for the help
Edit/Delete Message

falko 5th August 2006 18:35

What's the output of
Code:

iptables -L
,
Code:

netstat -tap
and
Code:

ifconfig
?

comedit 6th August 2006 11:14

The results are:
 
This is the output:

iptables -L:

Chain INPUT (policy accept)
target prot opt source destination

And the the same for FORWARD and OUTPUT

Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination


netstat -tap:




Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:mysql *:* LISTEN 1769/mysqld
tcp 0 0 192.168.100.104:domain *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 9613/proftpd: (acce
tcp 0 0 localhost.locald:domain *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 8414/master
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:953 *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp6 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN 8308/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:pop3s *:* LISTEN 8225/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:pop3 *:* LISTEN 8169/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:imap2 *:* LISTEN 8260/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 *:www *:* LISTEN 4911/apache2
tcp6 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 4965/sshd
tcp6 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 8414/master
tcp6 0 0 ip6-localhost:953 *:* LISTEN 6777/named
tcp6 0 0 *:https *:* LISTEN 4911/apache2
tcp6 0 0 ::ffff:192.168.100.:ssh aldibeast.lan:1350 ESTABLISHED9855/sshd: root@not
tcp6 0 148 ::ffff:192.168.100.:ssh aldibeast.lan:1351 ESTABLISHED9859/0

ifconfig:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:02:F2:38:37
inet addr:192.168.100.104 Bcast:192.168.100.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::201:2ff:fef2:3837/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:157178 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:114731 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:158573872 (151.2 MiB) TX bytes:11389906 (10.8 MiB)
Interrupt:145 Base address:0x1000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:79 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:79 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:5821 (5.6 KiB) TX bytes:5821 (5.6 KiB)

falko 7th August 2006 14:02

Hm, looks ok. And now you can't connect to 192.168.100.104 with PuTTY on port 22?

Ben 7th August 2006 14:16

Is this output after restarting the machine or directyl from console (if you have the possibility to access the machine directly).

Can you take a look in /var/log/message by the time of the connection broke, if there were any packets on port 22 logged?

comedit 7th August 2006 14:17

I can connect to the machine
 
I can connect now, to the server at 192.168.100.104;

But I am under the assumption that the script somewhere is hanging and waiting for input (mysqlserver and password etc). So I can't get back in that session.

The script probably got to the stage where it needs my input. But that never was on my screen (since I lost connection).

I can reconnect to the machine but do not know how to finalise the script since i am not in that installsession anymore if I reconnect.

By the way the actual static Ip should be 192.168.100.30 (static IP I set) but
it has now a IP assigned by DHCP. I don't understand how this happend but its the situation for the moment

Thanks for your input

Ben 7th August 2006 14:20

That looks like sth. / sb. changed your networksettings to dhcp at first.

Why don't you just remove the ispconfig stuff, run screen and reinstall in screen. So if your ssh session brakes you can restart and fetch the screen session

comedit 7th August 2006 14:44

I am an amateur Ben
 
Ben,


Is this output after restarting the machine or directyl from console (if you have the possibility to access the machine directly).

This is the output i get in Putty

Can you take a look in /var/log/message by the time of the connection broke, if there were any packets on port 22 logged?

No port connections found by me


By the way I have not restarted the machine yet since I lost connection, because of this thread ( I am installing this machine as an extra testing machine)

I do have access to the machine directly, and could do just that and had also consirered it allready. But i wanted to make sure I would not mess anything up and start from scratch

So

I am happy to reinstall, that's not the issue, I just want to be sure i am doing the right thing and in the mean time learn from it.

Up till now I have worked with putty and winscp

When you say screen you mean I should just restart installing ISPconfig from he commandlines on the machine itself ?

By the way something else ( again i am still learning)

How do I savely stop (shutdown computer completely) a correctly installed ISPconfigsystem from the commandline ?

Ben 7th August 2006 15:26

by screen I mean the programm / tool screen.
with screen you run your shell independent from the access you have to the machine.
E.g. you compile your kernel which may last 30 minutes or longer. if your connection brakes in between to can not reaccess that session.
So you could start "screen" do your stuff inside, and recall it with "sreen -r" in case your ssh session broke.

comedit 7th August 2006 15:57

thanks ben
 
Thanks Ben,

I will have a go with screen.

I will remove the ISPconfig dir's from the machine as you mentioned and reinstall ISPconfig.


Thanks for the help.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.