HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   bind doesn't notify second ns (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59998)

tommsen 19th December 2012 14:38

bind doesn't notify second ns
 
hi,

i added a zone via ispconfig and the first NS is the server itself but the second one is a Hetzner NS. If i do changes in ispconfig, the hetzner NS doesn't seem to be notified as it doesn't show up the changes on that hetzner NS

regards, tommsen

Ghostdare 19th December 2012 18:16

You nameserver and Hetzner NS are two separate entities, so there is no way of sync them.

At your registar you enter 2 nameservers with different IP's, and I espect that every one has a place where you enter your records, when you modify in one, must do the same in the other place.

till 19th December 2012 18:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by tommsen (Post 289845)
hi,

i added a zone via ispconfig and the first NS is the server itself but the second one is a Hetzner NS. If i do changes in ispconfig, the hetzner NS doesn't seem to be notified as it doesn't show up the changes on that hetzner NS

regards, tommsen

Did you add the ip address of the secondary ns from hetzner in the "Allow zone transfers to" field of the zone? If the Ip is added there, then your server will notify the secondary ns about zone changes.

Ghostdare 19th December 2012 18:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 289854)
Did you add the ip address of the secondary ns from hetzner in the "Allow zone transfers to" field of the zone? If the Ip is added there, then your server will notify the secondary ns about zone changes.

I didn't know that hetzner have this option - maybe Till knows best :)

tommsen 19th December 2012 20:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 289854)
Did you add the ip address of the secondary ns from hetzner in the "Allow zone transfers to" field of the zone? If the Ip is added there, then your server will notify the secondary ns about zone changes.

ok, i did it now and changed mx priority to trigger an update. dig still shows the old configuration. How long should that take normally?

tommsen 19th December 2012 20:32

worked now. i'm impatient ;)
thank you guys!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.