HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   DNS is doing my head in. (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59964)

Didcot 15th December 2012 15:54

DNS is doing my head in.
 
I have ispconfig 3 running on Debian which is on a Kimsufi server but can't seem to get my head around what should go where.

ip 5.39.92.225

Domain registrar intenet.bs

I managed to setup one site stiffs.co.uk, but no idea how I did it. I went through the DNS wizard and as you can see from intodns

ns.kimsufi.com. 213.186.33.199
ks3279322.kimsufi.com. 5.39.92.225

I would like to change this so the namservers are ns1.stiffs.co.uk & ns2.stiffs.co.uk

I also have another domain datingzoneonline.com that I setup in ispconfig and again created a DNS Zone for it but can't get it to work at all.

You can check it on intodns where I've tried to use ns1.datingzoneline.com & ns1.datingzoneline.com but had no joy with it.


Tried following all tutorials I can find but still no luck.


I wonder if someone could help me with this and I'll gladly recompense them for their time?

falko 16th December 2012 15:10

You need a glue record if your nameservers (ns1.stiffs.co.uk and ns2.stiffs.co.uk) are from the same zone as the domain (stiffs.co.uk).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain...d_glue_records

Didcot 16th December 2012 16:44

OK thanks, one thing apart from many I don't quite get clearly, is do I have to create a DNS Zone for every domain I register on my server?

I'm used to cpanel on shared hosting and normally just put in the nameservers from whatever hosting service I'm using.

Toucan 17th December 2012 01:00

It depends where your dns is being hosted.

name servers records at your registrar tell the rest of the world which servers host your set of dns records.

If you're hosting your own dns records then yes. You need to set the name server records at the registrar to yourns1.yourdomain.com and yourns2.yourdomain.com

You then need to create the various dns records on your server. There is a very good wizard in ispconfig that will help you do this.

Think of it as a set of sign posts:

registrar > ns1 > your web server (or other service)

web server serves site up.

Didcot 17th December 2012 14:45

Thanks for your help guys and from what I can see I was doing things just about correctly but the propagation wasn't happening quickly enough for my liking. Got up this morning and the site is now working all-be-it strangely.


What is happening now is that when viewing datingzoneonline.com it appears to be pointing to stiffs.co.uk and also if I make an FTP account for the domain it's doesn't work and also stops the FTP account working for stiffs.co.uk. As soon as I delete this account the old one starts working again.

I have created one client which is myself, two DNS zones for each of the sites and two sites but they appear to be cross linked in ways that I don't understand.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.