HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Add new website by client doesn't work (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59006)

tomfab 8th October 2012 14:32

Add new website by client doesn't work
 
Hello,

I've installed ISPConfig 3.0.4.6 on CentOS 6.3 64-bit.

I've configured DNS-zone via my admin account. Let's say domain.tld
When I operate as a client (created via admin or via reseller) I want to create new websites in subdomain of the DNS-zone.
subdomain.domain.tld

Sites => Add New Website doesn't make automatic changes to dns-zone files i /var/named
When I cat /var/named/pri.domain.tld there is no info about subdomain.domain.tld as I expect it to be.

I don't want to create different subzone for every subdomain to work make DNS working.

Please help me what I'm doing wrong?

till 8th October 2012 14:37

Quote:

Sites => Add New Website doesn't make automatic changes to dns-zone files i /var/named
Off course as a website is a apache vhost and the files of the apache server are in /etc/apache2/ or /etc/httpd depending on your linux distribution.

Quote:

I don't want to create different subzone for every subdomain to work make DNS working.
Then add a wildcard subdomain in the dns manager.

tomfab 8th October 2012 14:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 286410)
Off course as a website is a apache vhost and the files of the apache server are in /etc/apache2/ or /etc/httpd depending on your linux distribution.


Then add a wildcard subdomain in the dns manager.

Subdomain wildcard won't resolve my problem. I want my reseller to create subdomains of this domain but with separate vhosts and quotas.

When I was using cPanel as a reseller than the software created automaticaly both vhost config and proper DNS-zone update in one step.
Users don't know how to modify DNS records so I don't want them to do it.

tomfab 9th October 2012 07:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 286410)
Off course as a website is a apache vhost and the files of the apache server are in /etc/apache2/ or /etc/httpd depending on your linux distribution.



Then add a wildcard subdomain in the dns manager.

Where should I add that wildcard? To reseller or admin or user.
Should reseller have DNS zone entry or DNS zone should be on admin level only?

till 9th October 2012 08:47

Quote:

Where should I add that wildcard? To reseller or admin or user.
Add the wildcard to the dns record. A wildcard is a '*' A record.

Quote:

Should reseller have DNS zone entry or DNS zone should be on admin level only?
Thats up to you. You can either manage all dns records as admin or you can let your resellers manage the dns records.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:46.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.