HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Developers' Forum (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   API & Interface Inconsistency (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58948)

abdi 3rd October 2012 17:00

API & Interface Inconsistency
 
I realized that when creating a client through the API am expected to pass the reseller_id to which this client will belong to. (The Idea is good!)

However, creating the same client through the web interface, am not required to to select a reseller to whom this client should belong to. This is also not the case when editing the client ...(as admin)

Isn't this inconsistency?

till 3rd October 2012 17:06

Thats not a inconsistency as clients that belong to a reseller are created in the interface by the reseller and get assigned to this reseller automatically.

abdi 3rd October 2012 17:34

Thanks for that response ...

Till am developing a module for AWBS.com billing system with which accounts should be created instantly through API. (I will share it here when its done). I kindly request you to offer me help when ever I will need it.

If I ask foolish or already answered questions, please have mercy :)

Also, where do we post suggestions for I know I will have many in this course ...

abdi 3rd October 2012 17:37

Question #1:

If I provide template_master can I then NOT pass the rest of the limit varibles? ie

limit_maildomain (int(11))
limit_mailbox (int(11))
limit_mailalias (int(11)) and etc ...

till 3rd October 2012 17:53

Quote:

Also, where do we post suggestions for I know I will have many in this course ...
Please post feature requests in the bugtracker:

http://bugtracker.ispconfig.org

Quote:

If I provide template_master can I then NOT pass the rest of the limit varibles? ie

limit_maildomain (int(11))
limit_mailbox (int(11))
limit_mailalias (int(11)) and etc ...
You should be able to payy any variable that is available in the corresponding database table.

abdi 3rd October 2012 18:06

Till I just realized that despite these 2 being already defined in the template_master I am required (MUST) pass them in the API:

'web_php_options' & 'ssh_chroot'

However, all of the variables (including those 2 above) are set to the default of template_master which is good, but again renders those 2 must define variables useless. Thus I think they must be optional just like the rest of the limit variables.

abdi 3rd October 2012 20:49

Till, what is the difference between domains_domain_add and sites_web_domain_add

abdi 3rd October 2012 23:42

Till more problems with API,

Am getting this error (when I try adding a domain name with sites_web_domain_add):

data_processing_errorpm_process_idle_timeout_error _regex<br /> pm_max_requests_error_regex<br /> SOAP Error: pm_process_idle_timeout_error_regex
pm_max_requests_error_regex

Please help me understand the problem / cause

Joseph

till 4th October 2012 11:09

Ensure that you passed the correct values for the variables mentioned in the error message as part of the array:

pm_process_idle_timeout
pm_max_requests

abdi 4th October 2012 15:55

Thanks for that information Till,

May I suggest you add it to the API documentation specifically on the file "/remoting_client/API-docs/sites_web_domain_add.html"

You could also add it to the examples give in the example folder ...

Thanks, Joseph


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:39.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.