HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   ISPConfig Default Website (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58419)

FeraTechInc 28th August 2012 11:20

ISPConfig Default Website
 
When we deactivate the one of our website. The user automatically gets redirected to one of our client sites.

Is it possible to change this?

I have tried creating a link named "0" and linked it to our main company site. We placed it in /var/www and /var/www/WWW directories without success.

Is there any way to change the default site which shows up when a client tries to access a site which doesn't exist or is disabled?

till 28th August 2012 11:28

Apache shows the first site in alphabetic order that exists for a specific IP address if no site matches. So if you want to create a default site, you just have to ensure that it is the first one in alphabetic order.

Create a new site in ispconfig and use as domain name e.g.:

00000-defaultsite.tld

The domain name does not have to exist, it just have to be the first one to become the default site.

FeraTechInc 28th August 2012 21:53

This did not work.

I also tried doing a redirect for the website that was showing up and the redirect does not work eigther...

till 29th August 2012 10:13

Then you most likely did not select the correct IP address for the site or you did not wait until changes were written to disk. The steps I described abive work for all Linux distributions and setups that have a apache server installed.

FeraTechInc 29th August 2012 10:58

I had to select the IP address for the site. It now works.

However, I'm trying to get the redirection to work.

What do the following mean?

No Flag
L
R
L,R

I want to have it redirected to my main company site.

I have http://www.mysite.com
I have tried L R and L,R then No Flag.

Is that not how redirection works?

till 29th August 2012 11:11

Please see apache docs for detailed infor about apache rewrite flags:

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current...d_rewrite.html

The redirect is done for the domain of the website. As you dont use a real domain for the site, the redirect can not work. You can e.g. add a .htaccess file with a wildcard redirect in the web directory of the site.

FeraTechInc 29th August 2012 11:16

From what I gather if I set "No Flags" it should work... It didn't...

So I just made a quick HTML page.

HTML Code:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">

<head>

</head>

<frameset rows="100%,*" border="0">
<frame name="__main" src="http://www.mywebsite.com/"
noresize frameborder="0">

<noframes>
<h2>Your Web browser does not support frames</h2>
<p>
Please click the link to visit
<a href="http://www.mywebsite.com/"> My Website </a>
directly.
</p>
</noframes>
</frameset>


</html>

It's late I'm tired... It works...

Posted the page in case anybody else finds it useful.

till 29th August 2012 11:23

Quote:

From what I gather if I set "No Flags" it should work... It didn't...
No, it can not work. Please see my explanation in #6 if you want to know why.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.