HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   subdomains (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=58103)

petergus 27th July 2012 22:46

subdomains
 
Im trying to set up subdomains to act a separate site (get their own dir in var/www)

i've added a new site and set the hostname to the sub domain name, and everything else as normal (no co-domain)

the directories did show up in var/www but the sub domain dont go anywhere, dont work.

did i miss something? i did search the docs and forum, only found something about forwarding co-domains but i need the sub domains to have their own 'user' and be outside of the main domains user dir.

maybe it needs more then 24 hours to populate, not sure why though...

thanks!

petergus 28th July 2012 00:02

ok, so maybe i have to A name records to the registar, but seems like there should be way to do it and not mess with the DNS records...?

petergus 28th July 2012 00:17

ok, confused...

i created a new site, used the subdomain in the hostname like aboe, added a record, it works.

however, i wanted to make an FTP account for this site, so added a user and now i can login but it takes me to /user/username/web, but the actualy files display at sub.domain.com are at /web

so i have to locations for index.htm. weird. dont get it...

petergus 28th July 2012 09:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by petergus (Post 282882)
ok, confused...

i created a new site, used the subdomain in the hostname like aboe, added a record, it works.

however, i wanted to make an FTP account for this site, so added a user and now i can login but it takes me to /user/username/web, but the actualy files display at sub.domain.com are at /web

so i have to locations for index.htm. weird. dont get it...

ok, i fixed that. when setting up the "user and email" have to check Administrator.


still confused how to avoid a name records on my godaddy registar.

falko 28th July 2012 10:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by petergus (Post 282886)
still confused how to avoid a name records on my godaddy registar.

You cannot avoid creating DNS records for your subdomains (unless you have a wildcard record for the domain (like *.yourdomain.com), and your subdomains use the same IP address as the wildcard record.

petergus 28th July 2012 14:56

right! big duh ;)

set hostname * and IP in the godaddy DNS manager, all working.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:00.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.