HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Troubles While Installing ISPConfig3 via Serial Console in SolusVM VPS Control Panel (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57769)

Shyuan 28th June 2012 19:16

Troubles While Installing ISPConfig3 via Serial Console in SolusVM VPS Control Panel
 
Hi guys,

I got a VPS (openVZ virtualisation + solusVM VPS panel). I have my VPS installed with debian squeeze now. I tried to set up ISPConfig3 via SolusVM's Serial Console but just can't get through it. I skipped the first 2 pages on this tutotial (http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p4) because i don't setup the server. Not sure if I am wrong to skip those, but even if i don't skip i don't think i can do anything with it. Also, some commands return errors especially from step 11 onwards.

I can't find any tutorial that teaches us how to install ISPconfig3 directly in VPS. Since howtoforge teaches us how to install it from scratch (ie installing server on vmware), there are quite a number of different things to do. I am confused. I am just a beginner. Would be very much appreciate if someone could help me out.

Besides, is there any support provided to help installing it?

Cheers.

till 29th June 2012 11:06

Quote:

I can't find any tutorial that teaches us how to install ISPconfig3 directly in VPS. Since howtoforge teaches us how to install it from scratch (ie installing server on vmware), there are quite a number of different things to do. I am confused. I am just a beginner. Would be very much appreciate if someone could help me out.
The tutorials work for VM installations as well. Just connect to the basic debian system with ssh and then start with step 7 of the guide:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p3

Quote:

Besides, is there any support provided to help installing it?
Pleases ee ispconfig.org support page:

http://www.ispconfig.org/ispconfig-3/support/

Shyuan 29th June 2012 20:17

Hi Till,

Thank you for your response. Somehow I managed to install it successfully. However I saw this at the end of the tutorial section 20:

Quote:

20.1 OpenVZ
If the Debian server that you've just set up in this tutorial is an OpenVZ container (virtual machine), you should do this on the host system (I'm assuming that the ID of the OpenVZ container is 101 - replace it with the correct VPSID on your system):

VPSID=101
for CAP in CHOWN DAC_READ_SEARCH SETGID SETUID NET_BIND_SERVICE NET_ADMIN SYS_CHROOT SYS_NICE CHOWN DAC_READ_SEARCH SETGID SETUID NET_BIND_SERVICE NET_ADMIN SYS_CHROOT SYS_NICE
do
vzctl set $VPSID --capability ${CAP}:on --save
done
May I know where do I do this? is it via console? Thank you.

falko 30th June 2012 12:11

Yes, you do it on the command line of the host system.

Shyuan 30th June 2012 14:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 281375)
yes, you do it on the command line of the host system.

thank you! :)

Shyuan 6th July 2012 22:11

Hi,

I installed ISPconfig3 successfully but in the middle and at the end, I have the following three issues that is not working/installed quite properly. Not too sure if they are important.

First: In the middle of Step 13, I opened the file to edit, but there are only two lines of codes in the file whereas the tutorial shows there are quite a number of lines of codes. I do not have the line where you can add "usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfm t=vfsv0"

http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/6149/step13b.png

Second: In step 18, when i execute the command "apt-get install squirrelmail", it shows the below. I chosen "Manual Symlink Setting" though. Is that okay? If it's not, where can I change to the Finnish ones?

http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/4...p18symlink.png

Third: In step 20, I did the command line for VPS openVZ, in my case my container ID is 184, I amended the container ID, then i paste exactly the same thing into console, but it returns whole lot of results as per attachment below.

http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/920/step20openvz.png

May I know if they are important that must be correctly done? Or I can ignore them? Thank you!

falko 8th July 2012 22:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shyuan (Post 281718)
First: In the middle of Step 13, I opened the file to edit, but there are only two lines of codes in the file whereas the tutorial shows there are quite a number of lines of codes. I do not have the line where you can add "usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfm t=vfsv0"

What's in your /etc/fstab?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shyuan (Post 281718)
Third: In step 20, I did the command line for VPS openVZ, in my case my container ID is 184, I amended the container ID, then i paste exactly the same thing into console, but it returns whole lot of results as per attachment below.

Do you use OpenVZ? Did you run the commands on the OpenVZ host (not inside the container)?

What's the output of
Code:

which vzctl
on the host?

Shyuan 10th July 2012 13:44

my /etc/fstab:

Code:

proc  /proc      proc    defaults    0    0
none  /dev/pts    devpts  rw          0    0

As for your question:

Quote:

Do you use OpenVZ? Did you run the commands on the OpenVZ host (not inside the container)?
I dont think I am doing at the correct place then. Because I did that step in the serial console located in my solusvm container.

Also, I think I have to do this "which vzctl" on the host like you said. Which I don't think I have the access to the host you mentioned. But I tried doing that in serial console, it returns nothing.

What I owned is a VPS account from a hosting company. Not too sure a VPS account holder can do those?

falko 11th July 2012 16:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by Shyuan (Post 281818)
What I owned is a VPS account from a hosting company. Not too sure a VPS account holder can do those?

No, in this case you cannot access the host. But did you test if PureFTPd is working? Maybe you are lucky and the right capabilities are already set on the host.

Shyuan 17th July 2012 21:38

Hi Falco, i am not yet to try that out. But will do it soon as recently i am very busy ;) no time to test out the control panel. but thanks for reminding, will let you know again! :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.