HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Desktop Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   is there a way of keep using gnome 2? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57583)

skull_max 9th June 2012 03:14

is there a way of keep using gnome 2?
 
Yo there Im wondering if theres a way to use gnome 2.3x in the newest fedora 17, opensuse 12.1 or the cooker version on mandriva?
I just see gnome 3 like a toy, a very eyecandy toy, but it lacks several funcionality of the 2.x series. Thanks

falko 9th June 2012 10:53

I'm not sure if GNOME2 is in the repositories. Did you check with yum or yast?

Riff 10th June 2012 01:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by skull_max (Post 280459)
Yo there Im wondering if theres a way to use gnome 2.3x in the newest fedora 17, opensuse 12.1 or the cooker version on mandriva?
I just see gnome 3 like a toy, a very eyecandy toy, but it lacks several funcionality of the 2.x series. Thanks

I hatehatehate the new Gnome 3... but it seems that Gnome 2 only continues to exist in CentOS - and I've no idea how to get it into Fedora

skull_max 10th June 2012 01:42

Well Thanks anyway al giva a try to centos!!!
Cheers!!:):)

Riff 10th June 2012 11:44

Good luck: Here's a useful link regarding Flash

https://www.centos.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=37599&start=0#forumpost1646 61

rosehosting 10th June 2012 15:13

There is the MATE (gnome2 fork) DE, which seems is available under fedora 17.

It is in constant development. It was firstly born here.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.