HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Quota - CentOS - Xen VPS... configure /etc/fstab ? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57197)

m.xander 6th May 2012 01:14

Quota - CentOS - Xen VPS... configure /etc/fstab ?
 
Hello..

I'm just setting up a CentOS 6.2 VPS as per http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p3 .

I'm up to step 8 - Quota
I need a little assistance with editing /etc/fstab as my setup is a bit different from the tutorial.
I'm using CentOS 6.2 64bit,
The VPS host says they use Xen virtualization...

For starters this is what /etc/fstab looks like as default.
Can someone assist with how to configure for my Xen VPS..?

Code:

#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Tue Apr 10 19:11:20 2012
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
/dev/xvda      /              ext3    noatime,errors=remount-ro      0 1
/dev/xvdb      none            swap    sw                              0 0
/proc          /proc          proc    defaults                        0 0
tmpfs          /dev/shm        tmpfs  nodev,nosuid,noexec            0 0
devpts          /dev/pts        devpts  gid=5,mode=620                  0 0
sysfs          /sys            sysfs  defaults                        0 0


falko 6th May 2012 11:57

Your fstab should look as follows:

Code:

#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Tue Apr 10 19:11:20 2012
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
/dev/xvda      /              ext3    noatime,errors=remount-ro,usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfmt=vfsv0      0 1
/dev/xvdb      none            swap    sw                              0 0
/proc          /proc          proc    defaults                        0 0
tmpfs          /dev/shm        tmpfs  nodev,nosuid,noexec            0 0
devpts          /dev/pts        devpts  gid=5,mode=620                  0 0
sysfs          /sys            sysfs  defaults                        0 0


m.xander 6th May 2012 21:38

quotacheck: Cannot find filesystem...
 
I've adjusted /etc/fstab... as above... now the following output;

Code:

[root@li396-140 ~]# mount -o remount /
[root@li396-140 ~]# quotacheck -avugm
quotacheck: Cannot stat() mounted device /dev/root: No such file or directory
quotacheck: Cannot find filesystem to check or filesystem not mounted with quota option.


falko 7th May 2012 11:01

What's your quota version? According to http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1009974, you could have the wrong version.

You can also try this solution: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...4&postcount=15

Nap 23rd July 2014 12:13

I am having the same problem concerning /dev/root on Ubuntu 14.04LTS on my VPS. It worked fine when I did a trial install in a VirtualBox machine under Windows.

Creating the symlink ( /dev/xvda in my case) helped. But when I rebooted, the problem came back..

Is there a way of creating the link so it persists across boots (or have it created in a startup file)?

SOLVED I put "ln -s /dev/xvda /dev/root" into /etc/rc.local before the "exit 0" statement.

Cheers,
Nap


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:00.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.