HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   How to create a subdomain that doesn't change the url but still goes to redirect path (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57007)

todx 20th April 2012 20:29

How to create a subdomain that doesn't change the url but still goes to redirect path
 
How can I create a subdomain, for instance sub.domain.com that would go to the redirect path and without changing the url (w/o redirecting)?

dclardy 21st April 2012 03:48

The easiest way would be to create a new site for the subdomain.

todx 21st April 2012 16:22

Yeah, but that way its not a subdomain anymore its a domain... it uses new quota and everything ... developers really need to fix this.

till 21st April 2012 19:32

If the url in the address bar of the browser changes or not depends on the rewrite mode that you use and if you use a rewrite to a directory or a url. If you like to know how the different rewrite modes of apache work, please see apache rewrite guide in the apache documentation.

But in general you should create a new website if a subdomain shall have its own directory as dclardy explained, thats described in the manual as well.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.