HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Problem when adding more than one site (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56712)

gibbo1715 28th March 2012 22:48

Problem when adding more than one site
 
Hi All,

First visit here as i've only just set up my first debian 6 server (Using one of the guides here so many thanks for that) which was great but i ve now come across a problem and im hoping you can help me out

I ve set up my dns records for my base site fine and I created my first site using ispconfig3 fine and pointed my domain at it and again all works perfectly.

I now want to create a second site so i've followed the same process but when i browse to the new site (I have also checked using the hosts file) it points at the servers root showing me the servers root webpage and not the ispconfig new site web page, i ve also set up ftp which goes to the right place so i know its been created on the server, i ve tired several different sites and replicated my first site exactly and nothing has worked, i seem to only be able to set up one site for some reason which im sure is wrong

Can anyone give me an idea as to why this is happening please, I hope i ve explained myself properly

Many Thanks

Paul

kwickcut 28th March 2012 23:02

when u add a new site make sure that under IPv4-Address you have it set to * you do not want to use the server ip

so it looks like
IPv4-Address *

and not
IPv4-Address 123.456.789


see if that helps


kwick

gibbo1715 28th March 2012 23:08

thankyou but it already is set at *
 
thankyou but it is already set at * and not the root ip address

any other ideas?

thanks

Paul

till 29th March 2012 08:07

Check all sites including your fist site to ensure that you dont mix * and the IP on the server in the site settings. So either all sites use the IP or all use *. If the first uses the Ip and all other s use *, then only the first site will be reachable.

gibbo1715 29th March 2012 10:16

Thanks but all are *
 
I ve checked and my only other site on ispconfig is * as well, the new sites seem to point at the servers welcome screen, not a default ISP config page

Thanks

Paul

gibbo1715 29th March 2012 22:45

Just a thought ( im new to this so forgive me if this is daft) I followed the setting up debian server which ended up making my ispconfig control panel secure (https), my sites are not https, could that be the cause and make it so i cant add additional sites?

if so how would i turn it off please

Many Thanks

Paul

kwickcut 29th March 2012 23:00

that should not matter my ispconfig is also https and all of my site are just http and i have no issues. now did you check to make sure all of the sites have different directory in apache. maybe check your vhost file to make sure they are correct and not all point to the same plave

gibbo1715 29th March 2012 23:10

Sorry, can i ask how i would do that in an idiots guide please, I have however set up an ftp account and that definately works fine and goes to its own folders for the new site as expected, this is driving me nuts but i have no idea what i have done wrong, one site works perfectly but just cant add any others as they all point to the root webpage for the server

Any other ideas as to what i may have done wrong

thanks

Paul

kwickcut 29th March 2012 23:51

run the following command

Code:

apache2ctl -S
this will list your vhost file

gibbo1715 30th March 2012 10:35

Many thanks, this gives an error syntax error on line 7 of /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/000-ispconfig.vhost:
listen requires 1 or 2 arguements
action '-s' failed

my file reads as follows

################################################## ####
# This virtual host contains the configuration
# for the ISPConfig controlpanel
################################################## ####

Listen php -q update.php
NameVirtualHost *:php -q update.php

<VirtualHost _default_:php -q update.php>
ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost

<IfModule mod_fcgid.c>
DocumentRoot /var/www/ispconfig/
SuexecUserGroup ispconfig ispconfig
<Directory /var/www/ispconfig/>
Options Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews +ExecCGI
AllowOverride AuthConfig Indexes Limit Options FileInfo
AddHandler fcgid-script .php
FCGIWrapper /var/www/php-fcgi-scripts/ispconfig/.php-fcgi-starter .php
Order allow,deny
Allow from all
</Directory>
<he2/sites-enabled/000-ispconfig.vhost" [readonly] 65L, 1813C 1,0-1

Im guessing this is probably where my problem is, any help on how to fix this is very much appreciated

many thanks

Paul


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.