HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Bind DNS not reloading zone changes properly (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56186)

mcrider 15th February 2012 19:07

Bind DNS not reloading zone changes properly
 
I'm using Bind (9.8.2) in ISPConfig3 (3.0.3.3) on Fedora 15. When I create a new zone file Bind loads it fine and the new zone appears in my DNS server. However, when I change an existing zone file, Bind does not load the change. I have to manually restart Bind before it will pick up the change. How do I make Bind pickup the changes from ISPConfig without a forced restart?

Thanks!

Matt

till 16th February 2012 08:36

Update ispconfig to the current versiobn (3.0.4.3) and check if the problem still exists. If thats the case, then there might be a problem in the bind version that is installed or a problem in the init script as ispconfig runs the "reload" action of the bind script in /etc/init.d/ after zonefile changes.

mcrider 16th February 2012 15:58

Temporary solution
 
In the short term, we hacked Bind to restart upon a zone change instead of reloading. I'm in the process of moving to a new VM so I will update ISPConfig once that move is done and everything is stable.

Thanks Till

mcrider 17th February 2012 16:38

These are dynamic zones and Bind 9 will not re-read dynamic zones on a reload. I didn't configure these as dynamic zones, that's something ISPConfig did. Is there a way to changes these to static zones?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:21.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.