HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   multiple IPs with one PC and ISPconfig? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5596)

mac90 18th July 2006 09:11

multiple IPs with one PC and ISPconfig?
 
Hi,
I recently ordered a static dsl line and they are giving me 5 IP#s and I want to host a few websites. I have a question or two: Is it possible to use all 5 IP#s with just one PC and have them point to different things like 1 IP for a dns and another IP for a dns and then another IP for a web site and maybe then another IP for a few websites with virtual hostname based hosting?
And is this what ISPconfig can do with the DNS (BIND) part? Also, can ISPconfig be used as a website control panel like cpanel or fantastico but not give one website owner all my admin commands just let them change their website stuff? Also, how safe is ISPconfig? are there any known exploits or hacks that people have used to get root from ISPconfig?

Thanks sorry if these questions are newbie questions :/

edge 18th July 2006 11:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac90
Hi,
I recently ordered a static dsl line and they are giving me 5 IP#s and I want to host a few websites. I have a question or two: Is it possible to use all 5 IP#s with just one PC and have them point to different things like 1 IP for a dns and another IP for a dns and then another IP for a web site and maybe then another IP for a few websites with virtual hostname based hosting?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac90
Hi,
And is this what ISPconfig can do with the DNS (BIND) part? Also, can ISPconfig be used as a website control panel like cpanel or fantastico but not give one website owner all my admin commands just let them change their website stuff?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac90
Hi,
Also, how safe is ISPconfig? are there any known exploits or hacks that people have used to get root from ISPconfig?

As far as I know. No

falko 19th July 2006 12:52

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac90
And is this what ISPconfig can do with the DNS (BIND) part?

You should at least have two different DNS servers. Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

Quote:

Originally Posted by mac90
Also, can ISPconfig be used as a website control panel like cpanel or fantastico but not give one website owner all my admin commands just let them change their website stuff?

Yes. You can log in as admin, as a reseller, as a client, or as a user, and everyone has different permissions.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:02.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.