HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Using subdomain at other webhost (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55936)

laptop_user 26th January 2012 14:21

Using subdomain at other webhost
 
Hi,

I have a hosting somewhere else that I could use. Lets say I use godaddy and they give me ns57.godaddy.com and ns58.godaddy.com

I have a subdomain store.cheapantivirus.me I already added the subdomain to godaddy cpanel.

How could I add the godaddy nameserver in ispconfig so I could point my subdomain to my website at godaddy webhosting? Using A record is not possible because it can only accept IP address.

Thank you :)

falko 27th January 2012 12:01

What are the authoritative nameservers for cheapantivirus.me? If these are GoDaddy nameservers, you must create a DNS record for your subdomain in GoDaddy's web interface.

If your ISPConfig servers are authoritative for the domain, you must create the DNS record for the subdomain through ISPConfig.

laptop_user 27th January 2012 20:47

Authoritative nameservers for cheapantivirus.me is ns1.cheapantivirus.me. My ISPC servers are authoritative for the domain.

According to your advice here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...97&postcount=2

Is this the correct way to do it?
Code:


        A        *        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        cheapantivirus.me.        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        ns1        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        ns2        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        www        63.223.113.202        0       
        CNAME        mail.cheapantivirus.me.        ghs.google.com.        0       
        MX                ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.        1       
        MX                ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.        5       
        MX                ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.        5       
        MX                ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.        10       
        MX                ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.        10       
        NS        store.cheapantivirus.me.        ns57.godaddy.com.        10       
        NS        store.cheapantivirus.me.        ns58.godaddy.com.        5


If I undrstand this correctly cheapantivirus.me will be the SOA for my subdomain?

Thanks in advance Falko

falko 28th January 2012 12:54

The NS lines are wrong - they should be

Code:

NS        ns1.cheapantivirus.me.               
NS        ns2.cheapantivirus.me.

And for store.cheapantivirus.me you must create a new record inside the cheapantivirus.me zone.

laptop_user 28th January 2012 20:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 272525)
The NS lines are wrong - they should be

Code:

NS        ns1.cheapantivirus.me.               
NS        ns2.cheapantivirus.me.

And for store.cheapantivirus.me you must create a new record inside the cheapantivirus.me zone.



This is the records inside cheapantivirus.me.


Code:

  A        *        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        cheapantivirus.me.        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        ns1        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        ns2        63.223.113.202        0       
        A        www        63.223.113.202        0       
        CNAME        mail.cheapantivirus.me.        ghs.google.com.        0       
        MX                ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.        1       
        MX                ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.        5       
        MX                ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.COM.        5       
        MX                ASPMX2.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.        10       
        MX                ASPMX3.GOOGLEMAIL.COM.        10
        NS        cheapantivirus.me.        ns2.cheapantivirus.me.        0       
        NS        cheapantivirus.me.        ns1.cheapantivirus.me.        0       
        NS        store.cheapantivirus.me.        ns57.godaddy.com.        10       
        NS        store.cheapantivirus.me.        ns58.godaddy.com.        5


For the subdomain is that the correct way to do it. Or it should done this way:

Code:

        NS        www.store        ns57.godaddy.com.        10       
        NS        store        ns58.godaddy.com.        5

Thank you falko :)

falko 29th January 2012 12:28

Did you create the zone through ISPConfig?

laptop_user 29th January 2012 16:50

yes I create in ISPC.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.