HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Server set up for email? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55870)

mbrad 22nd January 2012 16:25

Server set up for email?
 
Thanks for taking the time to read my question.

I completed your tutorial on how to set up a Fedora 15 server as a web server ( http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...64-ispconfig-3 )

I'm wondering, does this setup include the ability to use PHP to send emails from the server?

I'm learning how to use PHP and I've done a mail(); When I click my button, my code works, but no email shows up in my online email account, which is where I'm sending my test to.

I've read this page a few times, and it seems like there may be something that needs to be set up on the server...? http://ca3.php.net/manual/en/function.mail.php

Thanks,
Brad

falko 23rd January 2012 11:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbrad (Post 272078)
I'm wondering, does this setup include the ability to use PHP to send emails from the server?

Yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbrad (Post 272078)
I'm learning how to use PHP and I've done a mail(); When I click my button, my code works, but no email shows up in my online email account, which is where I'm sending my test to.

I've read this page a few times, and it seems like there may be something that needs to be set up on the server...? http://ca3.php.net/manual/en/function.mail.php

Thanks,
Brad

If your server is hosted on a dynamic IP or is blacklisted (see http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx ), you must set up relaying: http://www.howtoforge.com/postfix_re...her_mailserver

Also check your mail log (in the /var/log/ directory) to find out what went wrong.

mbrad 23rd January 2012 15:08

Thanks Falko,

I will try this when I am home this evening.

Blacklisted? What is that?

My server is just in my house. It's on my local network, and has access to the internet. Does that change anything?

Thanks,
Brad

mbrad 24th January 2012 02:03

Hi Falko.

I looked in that directory and the only file in there is "Statistics". I double clicked on it and it did not open. I went into Terminal and opened it with gedit, and there was nothing in the file. There are no other files in the mail folder.

Brad

falko 24th January 2012 14:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbrad (Post 272122)
Blacklisted? What is that?

My server is just in my house. It's on my local network, and has access to the internet. Does that change anything?

Then you probably have a dynamic IP and should set up relaying.

mbrad 25th January 2012 02:19

Thanks for the reply.

Just so I understand...

When you say dynamic IP, you mean the IP that my ISP gives me and not the IP of my server on my local network? I have put in a static IP for my server on my network.

Thanks,

Brad

falko 25th January 2012 17:13

Yes, I mean the server's public IP address which in your case is your router's public IP address (the IP your ISP assigns to you).


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.