HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Multi Server setup and phpmyadmin (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55811)

djurhuus 17th January 2012 22:15

Multi Server setup and phpmyadmin
 
I haven't figured out how to get in contact with my mysql server through phpmyadmin.

My setup

web.my.domain (web/file server - master ISPConfig 3)
db.my.domain (mysql server)
mail.my.domain (mail server)
ns1.my.domain (dns server)
ns2.my.domain (dns server)

I can make databases on db.my.domain via master ISPConfig 3 interface but I can't contact the databases.
If I try in the ISPConfig 3 interface I hit the mysql on master ISPConfig 3 server which dosen't contain my databases - they are on the db.my.domain :eek:.
I can't go through db.my.domain/phpmyadmin while it seems like phpmyadmin isn't installed on db.my.domain!(I have used the Multiserver Setup With Dedicated Web, Email, DNS & MySQL Database Servers On Debian Squeeze With ISPConfig 3).
If I try via www.my.domain/phpmyadmin I will just hit the master ISPConfig 3 server again.

Is there something I missing here or have I totally missed how to contact my db.my.domain server using phpmyadmin ???

Regards
djurhuus

Horfic 17th January 2012 22:23

Well one way is to install phpmyadmin on the db server

The other one would be that you set it up correctly to work with a remote server, in this instance your db server

djurhuus 17th January 2012 22:30

It was my purpose to use phpmyadmin remotely on the db.my.domain.
I've followed the guide and can figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Have anybody got this to work - please tell me how it suppose to work.

Horfic 17th January 2012 22:36

Well thats my config for phpmyadmin

Code:

<?php
/* This is needed for cookie based authentication to encrypt password  */
$cfg['blowfish_secret'] = 'xuSdgfghjdfghfghdsfgdh'; /* YOU MUST FILL IN THIS FOR COOKIE AUTH! */
 
/* Servers configuration */
$i = 0;
 
/* 1 server */
$i++;
/* Authentication type */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'cookie';
/* Server parameters */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'server1';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['hide_db'] = '(mysql|information_schema|phpmyadmin)';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = false;
/* Select mysqli if your server has it */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';
 
/* User for advanced features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'password';
 
/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma_relation';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma_table_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma_table_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma_pdf_pages';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma_column_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma_bookmark';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma_history';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma_designer_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma_tracking';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma_userconfig';

/* 2 server */
$i++;
/* Authentication type */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'cookie';
/* Server parameters */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'server2';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['hide_db'] = '(mysql|information_schema|phpmyadmin)';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = false;
/* Select mysqli if your server has it */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';

/* User for advanced features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'password';
 
/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma_relation';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma_table_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma_table_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma_pdf_pages';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma_column_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma_bookmark';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma_history';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma_designer_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma_tracking';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma_userconfig';

/* 3 server */
$i++;
/* Authentication type */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['auth_type'] = 'cookie';
/* Server parameters */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['host'] = 'server3';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['hide_db'] = '(mysql|information_schema|phpmyadmin)';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['compress'] = false;
/* Select mysqli if your server has it */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';

/* User for advanced features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controluser'] = 'pma';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['controlpass'] = 'password';
 
/* Advanced phpMyAdmin features */
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pmadb'] = 'phpmyadmin';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['relation'] = 'pma_relation';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_info'] = 'pma_table_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['table_coords'] = 'pma_table_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['pdf_pages'] = 'pma_pdf_pages';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['column_info'] = 'pma_column_info';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['bookmarktable'] = 'pma_bookmark';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['history'] = 'pma_history';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['designer_coords'] = 'pma_designer_coords';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['tracking'] = 'pma_tracking';
$cfg['Servers'][$i]['userconfig'] = 'pma_userconfig';

$cfg['DisplayServersList']    = true;
$cfg['ThemeManager'] = false;
?>

But you have to remember that all dbs have to be accessible by the phpmyadmin server with the user (hint: remote_access)

djurhuus 17th January 2012 22:41

Where is your phpmyadmin config located?

Horfic 17th January 2012 22:44

In the phpmyadmin directory and the file is called config.inc.php when it isn't there just create it

djurhuus 17th January 2012 22:47

Super - I will try to compare the config.inc.php files tomorrow :)

PermaNoob 19th January 2012 21:36

A lot easier to use adminer: http://www.adminer.org/#download

Just upload one file, http://downloads.sourceforge.net/adm...3-mysql-en.php, go to it in your web browser and login.

There was an error with logging in to php myadmin a long time ago and I started using adminer and used it ever since.

flynns.br 11th July 2012 22:56

Any one got it done??
 
Hi guys I'm having the same problem here too any one could help me?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.