HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   4 questions about ispconfig and domains, please help! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5581)

dimas 17th July 2006 17:14

4 questions about ispconfig and domains, please help!
 
I have a number of questions and will greatly appreciate your help!

1) Samba
After I installed ISPConfig on suse 10.1 and enabled its firewall, samba naturally stopped to work. Samba manual says the following:

Port 135/TCP - used by smbd
Port 137/UDP - used by nmbd
Port 138/UDP - used by nmbd
Port 139/TCP - used by smbd
Port 445/TCP - used by smbd

So I opened these ports in ispconfig, and the windows pcs (I have two windows pcs on my local network) again gained access to the shares on the lunux pc. OK, BUT - not the other way round, that is, I can't mount a samba folder on the linux pc (this folder should provide access to a shared folder on one of my windows pcs). The samba manual says that "the high order ports (1024-65535) are often used for outgoing connections and therefore should be permitted through the firewall". But how can I enable these ports in ispconfig? I tried inputting something like 1024-65535 in the rule's port field - but ispconfig returns an error. So - is there a way to allow outgoing connections for high order ports without having to input all the single ports manually (like 1024, 1025, etc)? I hope there is a solution, because the single port input is obviously out of the question. :)

2) one name server
is it enough to have just one primary name server for a domain? let's say i have ns1.test.com configured with the help of ispconfig - can I just state ns1.test.com in the primary ns field of, let's say, test2.com domain? Will it work if the secondary name server field is left empty? Or can I put ns1.test.com for the secondary name server as well?

3) two name servers on one ispconfig linux pc
can i configure ns1.test.com AND ns2.test.com on the same pc? (I have several external ips). If yes, how? (Basically i have only one pc with 10 ips that i can use as a server)

4) let's say i have two name servers ns1.test.com and ns2.test.com configured with the help of ispconfig. can i use this domain TEST.COM also for hosting a website, ftp, mail, etc? If yes, WHERE do i need to input all the pertinent information - mx records, etc - ?

I realize that some of my questions can sound rather stupid, but I'm learning...

dimas 18th July 2006 09:52

a number of things has become clearer, but I'm still stumped with the first one...

Ben 18th July 2006 10:00

Since I normally set my firewall up once and seldomly do a change here,
I don't use the ISPConfig frontend for the firewall.
I use firehol for that (http://firehol.sf.net), a shellscript which creates all iptables stuff with much flexebility from a configfile. It is very fast to setup.
Another good thing is, you can "try" new configs which gets discarded if you don't commit them after 30seconds to prevent beeing locked out from ssh...
I use that on on Linuxbox at home where I also use smb... no problems yet...

falko 18th July 2006 12:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by dimas
2) one name server
is it enough to have just one primary name server for a domain? let's say i have ns1.test.com configured with the help of ispconfig - can I just state ns1.test.com in the primary ns field of, let's say, test2.com domain? Will it work if the secondary name server field is left empty? Or can I put ns1.test.com for the secondary name server as well?

3) two name servers on one ispconfig linux pc
can i configure ns1.test.com AND ns2.test.com on the same pc? (I have several external ips). If yes, how? (Basically i have only one pc with 10 ips that i can use as a server)

You can do this, but you might hae problems with some registrars that require you to have two different name servers.
Have a look at http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy and http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto

Quote:

Originally Posted by dimas
4) let's say i have two name servers ns1.test.com and ns2.test.com configured with the help of ispconfig. can i use this domain TEST.COM also for hosting a website, ftp, mail, etc?

Yes, sure.

dimas 18th July 2006 13:26

Thank you for your reply.

Well, at the moment I set up just one name server in ispconfig:
ns1.mydomain.com

I also created a site www.mydomain.com

Also I changed the nameservers where I registered mydomain.com to:
ns1: ns1.mydomain.com (the registrar allows just one ns)

There I also created a host:
ns1.mydomain.com that points to my ip.

HOWEVER: when I try to ping ns1.mydomain.com the following happens:
the correct ip is displayed, but then no packets are exchaned - there's 100% losses.

Where is the mistake?

dimas 18th July 2006 22:58

I've found the problem - it is local. Strangely enough, i can't get my sites displayed if i try to browse them using my isp. They are all visible from the outside, however.

falko 19th July 2006 12:56

I think it's a problem with your router not allowing loopbacks into your local network or something like that.

dimas 1st August 2006 11:55

Now this problem is fully solved - I was behind NAT, but now all external IPs are configured directly on my network card - and everything is OK.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:24.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.