HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Need a Server to run ISPCONFIG on ! Look Here... (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5503)

jockstrap 13th July 2006 10:14

Need a Server to run ISPCONFIG on ! Look Here...
 
Folks,

You don't need to buy an expensive server or 2nd computer to run ispconfig and try it! Not sure if you are aware, but vmware have made their SERVER version FREE now!

What this enables you to do - is to run ispconfig on your existing windows machine as a virtual server!

It's fantastic for testing or even a permanent server...

Anyway - it's what I use and thought I'd let you know about it..
http://www.vmware.com

PS: There is even a section on the website where you can download pre-built appliances and someone has built an ispconfig appliance for you. So basically all you do is download the files and fire it up with vmware and you have an ispconfig server ready to configure and run!

Enjoy - cheers...

edge 13th July 2006 10:27

This is how I've been testing OS'ese for some time now!
I'm not using "VMware", but "Parallels Workstation" (not free).

till 13th July 2006 12:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by jockstrap
Folks,

You don't need to buy an expensive server or 2nd computer to run ispconfig and try it! Not sure if you are aware, but vmware have made their SERVER version FREE now!

What this enables you to do - is to run ispconfig on your existing windows machine as a virtual server!

It's fantastic for testing or even a permanent server...

Anyway - it's what I use and thought I'd let you know about it..
http://www.vmware.com

VMWare is really nice for testing, we use it to write the howtos.

Quote:

PS: There is even a section on the website where you can download pre-built appliances and someone has built an ispconfig appliance for you. So basically all you do is download the files and fire it up with vmware and you have an ispconfig server ready to configure and run!
The appliance has been build by Falko and me, the highlights are that it has SuPHP and ChrootSSH enabled, these features are part of the next official ISPConfig release.

edge 13th July 2006 12:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
VMWare is really nice for testing, we use it to write the howtos.



The appliance has been build by Falko and me, the highlights are that it has SuPHP and ChrootSSH enabled, these features are part of the next official ISPConfig release.

Till is there an ETA for the new ISPConfig?

till 13th July 2006 12:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by edge
Till is there an ETA for the new ISPConfig?

Within 1 week, maybe already on monday.

edge 13th July 2006 13:31

Looking forward to it :-)

todvard 13th July 2006 16:57

Seems, this is a day of virtualization

Microsoft announced the free Virtual PC 2004: here
VirtualIQ 525, a free web based vitrual machine management and monitor tool: here

jockstrap 14th July 2006 02:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by todvard
Seems, this is a day of virtualization

Microsoft announced the free Virtual PC 2004: here
VirtualIQ 525, a free web based vitrual machine management and monitor tool: here


WOW! More toys to play with ....... he he he

wr19026 14th July 2006 09:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
Within 1 week, maybe already on monday.

Will the "problem" with aliases that's causing the user@www.domain.dom headaches in RoundCube be solved in the new release?

till 14th July 2006 10:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by wr19026
Will the "problem" with aliases that's causing the user@www.domain.dom headaches in RoundCube be solved in the new release?

No. The aliases where written correctly in ISPConfig. I think we will not change ISPConfig just to work around the roundcube bug in reading the config file.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:04.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.