HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Disk Usage (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54790)

Amorphous 5th November 2011 13:27

Disk Usage
 
hello ia have a small problem concernig the disk usage... for the moment thr isp monitor looks like this:


Filesystem Type Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mapper/vg_s1-lv_root
ext4 50G 15G 33G 31% /
tmpfs tmpfs 7.8G 0 7.8G 0% /dev/shm
/dev/md127p1 ext4 485M 49M 411M 11% /boot
/dev/mapper/vg_s1-lv_home
ext4 1.8T 1.8G 1.7T 1% /home


everithing i have inside the var/www/ is directed to root mapper...
wasn t this supposed to be in to the home device ???
for the moment i have inside the /home directory only 2 users with some gaming servers .....

am i forced to change the sites and ftp install directives into the home directory in order to fill /dev/mapper/vg_s1-lv_home instead of root ???

are there any settings i need to make in Centos so the disk used will be /dev/mapper/vg_s1-lv_home ??

thank you

zzz 5th November 2011 18:01

mount is the answer :-)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Amorphous (Post 266782)
are there any settings i need to make in Centos so the disk used will be /dev/mapper/vg_s1-lv_home ??

Hi.

Just to make sure I understand your problem correctly:

You have /var/www on your 50 GB large root partition and instead you want it on the 2TB large one, correct?

If so, that shouldn't be a problem. The shell command you are looking for is mount .

You can create a new directory (say "/home/www") on the 2TB partition, then use something like "mount --bind olddir newdir" (OR --rbind OR --move) to "redirect" /home/www to /var/www.

Also, I'd suggest you move your data from /var/www to /home/www first and only then use mount on empty /var/www. Otherwise, you wouldn't be able to (easily) access the data there. If you need to take the changes back, use umount.

Good luck.

Amorphous 6th November 2011 00:23

thank you very much for the reply that s exactky what i will do, i will bind vae/www to home/www to avoid any other changes in the directoryes, i already have bussiness clients that i don`t think will want to wait any changes i want to make from now on :)
thank you very much for the suggestion.

zzz 6th November 2011 00:29

Good luck. And make backups, they usually pay off ;)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.