HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Issues with www. and no www. (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54141)

xstnc 15th September 2011 11:18

Issues with www. and no www.
 
Hi,

I'm having a kind of wierd problem with my newly installed ISPConfig 3 setup.
I've got two DNS servers linked together, and bought the domain: honstreams.com just for testing purposes.

When I go to www.honstreams.com it works fine, but if I drop the www. I get nowhere.

If I run dig @localhost this is the output:

Code:

me@server:/$ dig @localhost honstreams.com

; <<>> DiG 9.7.0-P1 <<>> @localhost honstreams.com
; (2 servers found)
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 37079
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;honstreams.com.                        IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
honstreams.com.        86400  IN      A      178.21.129.124

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
honstreams.com.        86400  IN      NS      ns2.avestahosting.no.
honstreams.com.        86400  IN      NS      ns1.avestahosting.no.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.avestahosting.no.  86400  IN      A      178.21.129.124
ns2.avestahosting.no.  86400  IN      A      89.191.27.202

;; Query time: 10 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Thu Sep 15 11:13:35 2011
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 132

This looks OK doesn't it?

So I just can't figure out why it doesn't work properly..

Any thoughts?

falko 16th September 2011 10:31

It's working for me. Sometimes it can take up to 72 hours until DNS changes propagate. I guess this was the problem here.

xstnc 16th September 2011 11:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 263604)
It's working for me. Sometimes it can take up to 72 hours until DNS changes propagate. I guess this was the problem here.

The changes were much older than 72 hours.
I have no idea what I did to make things work - so any thoughts on what it COULD have been would be awesome!

falko 17th September 2011 11:20

Maybe your browser cache?

xstnc 17th September 2011 12:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 263661)
Maybe your browser cache?

It's a good thought, but it's not just on one computer - and not only one browser.

And even tried cleared the cache!

Oh well, seems to work now - even if I have no idea what I did..


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.