HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   how to set 1 ip to primary and secondary DNS? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=54033)

kelyiu3000 3rd September 2011 19:54

how to set 1 ip to primary and secondary DNS?
 
Can I follow the step of How To Run Your Own DNS Servers (Primary And Secondary) With ISPConfig 3 (Debian Squeeze)?

And I find that the topic is for two different IP....I only have public ip, how can I set up my server? I do want to use ns1.xxx.com and ns2.xxx.com for dns server as a same ip. Only create the dns record or some else?

Thank you very much!

otacon 3rd September 2011 22:05

You can have both have the same ip address, but the reason why you have a back is incase one of the servers go down.

You say you have a Public IP address... what does that mean? Are you saying you have a external dynamic IP address or external Static IP address?

kelyiu3000 4th September 2011 10:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by otacon (Post 262903)
You can have both have the same ip address, but the reason why you have a back is incase one of the servers go down.

You say you have a Public IP address... what does that mean? Are you saying you have a external dynamic IP address or external Static IP address?

Sorry....it is external Static IP address
Can I just add the dns records in the DNS zone...Thx

till 4th September 2011 18:04

For dns records you should use the external ip. Ns1 and ns2 should have different ip addresses even if both ip adresses are pointing to the same physical server as most domain registries require that. You might want to ask the company where you registered the domain if thEy require that too.

kelyiu3000 4th September 2011 19:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 262931)
For dns records you should use the external ip. Ns1 and ns2 should have different ip addresses even if both ip adresses are pointing to the same physical server as most domain registries require that. You might want to ask the company where you registered the domain if thEy require that too.

hi, thank for reply me.

I would like to ask I have already use the same external ip registered as ns1 and ns2 record in domain provider and ispcp but I would like to change from ispcp to ispconfig. Does it mean ispconfig do not support the same external ip registered as ns1 and ns2 record?

In test server, I try to add ns1 and ns2 in dns zone as same external ip, I think it got work. Is that a possible solution?

Thank you very much.

falko 5th September 2011 11:06

You can use the same IP in ISPConfig as well. :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:21.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.