HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Thoughts about moving sites between servers (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53510)

SamTzu 23rd July 2011 11:57

Thoughts about moving sites between servers
 
Hi, all.

It's that time again, the time I find my self working around the clock (on weekend) moving sites away from bad hardware to new hardware. (Server that all ready has a working ISPC3 cluster.)

It struck me (again) how long this current ISPC3 configuration takes to move. Primarily the reason for this is that the Databases and sites have cNumber prefix. This prevents me from simply copying them all from the old server to the new server. (That would take only a couple of minutes instead of hours that it takes now.)

I understand the reason to have a prefix that defines the Database and the site uniquely.

Couldn't that prefix be a date though?
I would give my left arm for that now. :)

Then I could move all the sites with just a few commands.

COMMAND :eek: "Hear my rant and obey!"

till 25th July 2011 16:30

You can use several kinds of prefixes for users beside the client ID, e.g. the username or you add a static prefix which is unique for the server like s1c[clientid] and then s2c[clientid] for the next server etc.

Another option is to use the multiserver capabilities from ispconfig to connect all servers to the same controlpanel, in that case, the client_id's are unique for all servers.

A prefix like a date wont work well, as ispconfig would not be able to "hide" it in the username edit field as it would be different every time when a record gets added or modified.

SamTzu 26th July 2011 19:24

Lazy admin's ramblins
 
I have built our first ISPConfig cluster.
As usual I over did it.
There is currently 12 nodes in the cluster. :)

I like Proxmox approach to clusters.
There ISPConfig VM's automatically get noticed by the system as a virtual machines simply by existing.

Configuration file -> /etc/vz/conf/101.conf
Virtual Machine -> /var/lib/vz/private/101/

If those exist, then the system will include virtual ISPConfig3 node id:101 in the list of virtual machines. etc. That is so simple and so good.

I wonder if that would work with the websites? :) :) :)
Imagine if you could just dump a thousand sites in the /var/www folder and they would be detected by ISPConfig automatically.
Yoohooo.

till 26th July 2011 21:03

This wont work for websites, as the apache configuration file syntax incl. rewrite rules and other options is much more complex then the one of openvz (which uses just a simple ini file with about a dozen options). Also you would need details about the clients, client addresses, mysql databases, access to databases, ftp users, ssh users etc. that are all connected to a website to recreate it on a different server.

SamTzu 26th July 2011 21:28

Yup. It all starts simple and then it bloats like Microsoft.

zbuzanic 20th January 2012 16:19

Hm, I've moved one site from one to another server:
- ziped web and unziped on second + applied chown
- created database / ftp

Everything works fine with that site, except alias domain to that site is not working properly. It just shows the default webpage (It works..)

Any ideas or suggestions?

zbuzanic 24th January 2012 03:25

Well, it was just matter of time... it's working now, probably propagation or whatever :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.